Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18: Jaydev Unadkat Joins Saurashtra Ahead of Final

Updated - 27 Feb 2018, 12:22 PM

Jaydev Unadkat, Ashok Dinda, Bowlers Face Mask
Jaydev Unadkat (Credits - BCCI)

Table of Contents

India pacer, Jaydev Unadkat has joined Saurashtra ahead of the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy.

There was no news of him landing in Delhi till the eve of the final and his participation in the contest was only confirmed after was seen practising with the team.

Jaydev Unadkat
Jaydev Unadkat’s participation was only confirmed on the morning of the day. (Photo credit should read DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

His addition is a big boost for Saurashtra, who looks a bit weak against Karnataka. The latter have already got a big boost when KL Rahul landed in the camp on the eve of the final contest.

Both the players were in South Africa for the T20I series.

They both landed in India yesterday and decided to play the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy.

If Saurashtra wins this game, they will not be able to avail Unadkat’s services as he is a part of India squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018.

Rajasthan Royals, Ben Stokes, Ajinkya Rahane, Steven Smith, Jaydev Unadkat, Sanju Samson
Jaydev Undakat will play for Rajasthan Royals in IPL. Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI.

He recently made his comeback to the national side for the home T20I series against Sri Lanka and had retained his place since then. Recently, he was in the limelight when he was bought by Rajasthan Royals for an amount of Rs 11.50 Crore in the IPL auction.

The price made him second highest buy of the season, after Ben Stokes.

However, he was the highest paid Indian player.

Last year, he got sold at his base price of Rs 30 Lakh. He pouched 24 wickets in IPL, which saw him making his comeback to the national side and also going for a sky-rocketing amount in the IPLauction.

With the addition of KL Rahul and Unadkat, the star factor has increased in the final, and a crunch game awaits ahead. Karnataka are going as the favourites, but Saurashtra have posted nervy wins in two knockout contests, a thing which they can do again.

The final will be played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi on February 27.

Squads –

Karnataka: Karun Nair (c), Mayank Agarwal, Ravikumar Samarth, Anirudha Joshi, Ritesh Bhatkal, CM Gautam (wk), Shreyas Gopal, Krishnappa Gowtham, Pradeep T, Pavan Deshpande, Prasidh Krishna, Praveen Dubey, Jagadeesha Suchith, Stuart Binny, Sreenath Aravind, Ronit More, Sharath BR, Devdutt Padikkal.

Saurashtra: Jaydev Shah, Avi Barot, Aarpit Vasavada, Himalaya Barad, Sheldon Jackson, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Ravindra Jadeja, Chirag Jani, Kamlesh Makvana, Prerak Mankad, Cheteshwar Pujara (c), Hardik Rathod, Shaurya Sanandia, Robin Uthappa, Samarth Vyas.

Follow Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 here –

Video of the day –


Jaydev Unadkat KL Rahul Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018