An all-round effort from the batting department saw Delhi recording their second consecutive win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018.

After being asked to chase down a huge total of 299 by Tripura, Delhi achieved the target comfortably in just 40th over of the game, with seven wickets in hand.

After choosing to bowl first, Delhi chipped in with two wickets early when Pradeep Sangwan dismissed Udiyan Ghosh and Smith Patel on consecutive deliveries to close the sixth over of the game.

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017/18: Nitish Rana Leads Delhi to Win Over Tripura In a High-Scoring Encounter
Photo credits: ESPNcricinfo/ Sharda Ugra

Veteran Yashpal Sing again came to his team’s rescue and along with Bishal Ghosh, steered the team ahead. Both the players stood there at the crease for next 26 overs, sharing 130 runs for the third wicket.

Yashpal once again showed why he is known as a man of crisis, as he scored 61 runs before getting dismissed. The veteran player had scored a century in the previous game for his side.

Bishal Ghosh missed out on a century after Pawan Negi dismissed him on 84. A late blitz from Gurinder Singh (54* off 39) saw Tripura flying in the late overs and posting a huge total of 298.

Unmukt Chand, Delhi, India, IPL 2018, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018, Mumbai Indians,
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The target seemed to be a difficult one for Delhi, but the openers once again led a strong base. The pair of Unmukt Chand (55) and Hiten Dalal (76) shared 93 runs for the first wicket in 17.3 overs to put Delhi right behind the target.

After Unmukt’s dismissal, Nitish Rana came to the crease with an aggressive mindset. On the one hand, Hiten was looking to score cautiously while Nitish was dealing in boundaries.

He kept the pace of Delhi’s innings up and never the Pradeep Sangwan-led side seemed to be in any pressure to chase the target.

After Hiten’s dismissal, it was Rishabh Pant who formed an aggressive pair with Nitish and shared 98 runs off just 51 balls. Rishabh’s contribution was 56 in the partnership. He hit nine fours and two sixes during his quick fire-innings.

Just after Rishabh’s dismissal, Nitish did rest of the task and won the game for the side with a boundary to finish off the task easily in just 39.1 overs.

Brief scores: Delhi 300/3 (Nitish Rana 94*, Hiten Dalal 76, Rishabh Pant 56, Unmukt Chand 55*; Udiyan Bose 2-40) defeat Tripura 298/7 (Bishal Ghosh 84, Yashpal Singh 61, Gurinder Singh 54*; Kulwant Khejroliya 2-51, Pradeep Sangwan 2-81) by seven wickets.

Other scores –

Brief scores: Maharashtra 343/5 defeat 238/10 by 105 runs.

Brief scores: Odisha 213/8 defeat Railways 212/10 by two wickets.

Brief scores: Bengal 235/8 vs Kerala 235/6 ended as a tied contest.

Brief scores: Haryana 251/8 defeat Punjab 247/9 by two wickets. 

Brief scores: Karnataka 312/9 defeat Baroda 180/8 by 85 runs.

Follow Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018 here –

Video of the day –