Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

It has been a brilliant season for Virat Kohli as the captain of the Indian National Cricket Team, especially, in Test format of the game. After registering stunning victories across the world, now, the team looks rock-solid in the series against South Africa as well. During the course, he broke quite a few records to his name as a skipper of the team. Now, he leapfrogs Mohammed Azharuddin.

Virat Kohli enforced follow-on for 8 times:

Earlier, Mohammad Azharuddin enforced follow-on for 7 times during his career as a captain of the team. He was sitting on the top for quite a few years but, now, he was replaced by Virat Kohli. Earlier, in the Pune Test, Virat Kohli equalled him by enforcing the follow-on, now, he surpassed him at Ranchi.

Read More: Cricket Experts Pick Test Squad Which Can Beat India In India

Virat Kohli, Mohammed Azharuddin
Virat Kohli. (Credits: Twitter)

Virat Kohli, who is now playing his 51st Test as India skipper, has had 15 opportunities to enforce the follow-on in his captaincy career. Out of these, he has now enforced it 8 times (including the ongoing Ranchi Test) while choosing not to do so at other times.

Before enforcing the follow-on, it was yet another tough session in the morning for South Africa. They were cracked down by the Indian bowlers with their blistering line and lengths. Almost every bowled had success against the Proteas batsmen to help Virat Kohli taking the brave call.

Umesh Yadav
Umesh Yadav delighted after cleaning Quinton de Kock. Credit: BCCI

Following Kohli, it was Mohammed Azharuddin in the chart with 7 times while Mahendra Singh Dhoni is next in the lineup with 5. The stylish southpaw Sourav Ganguly has enforced follow-on for 4 times during his tenure as a skipper.

The day started with a beautiful out-swinger from Umesh Yadav, which took away the off-stump of Faf du Plessis. Following the dismissal, Zubayr Hamza and Bavuma stood for a while at the crease but unfortunately, Hamza failed to read Ravindra Jadeja‘s straighter one.

Read More: Bangladesh’s Tour Of India In Jeopardy As Players Go On Strike

After the dismissal, it was just a matter of a time for Indian bowlers to wrap things up. Following the option to take follow-on, Umesh Yadav sent Quinton de Kock while Mohammed Shami got rid of Zubayr Hamza.


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!