In the quest to acclaim glory on the Asia soil for the first time in many years, Australia is doing everything possible. Meanwhile, ahead of the Vizag T20I against India, former Aussie gloveman, Brad Haddin joined the camp. As Australia, in the past, had struggled to find a replacement for Haddin; they have used many wicketkeeper-batsmen to fill his shoes. On the current tour, Alex Carey will play as the specialist wicket-keeper. Besides, Peter Handscomb can come in handy with his part-time wicket-keeping ability.

Haddin gets down to business immediately

The veteran of the game, Brad Haddin didn’t waste time and got down to business; he began training with the keepers. released a video which showed the fielding coach of Australia, Brad giving catches to keeper-batsman, Handscomb.

Australia set to push ‘pressure-button’ on the Indians

As the first of the two T20Is scheduled to begin on Sunday (February 24th) in Vizag, the Aussies are busy preparing in the nets to cause an upset. Though they don’t have their star players – Starc, Hazlewood, Warner and Smith; they are upbeat about finding success against India.

In the recent past, Australia had suffered blows against India – losing the Tests first (1-2) before going down in the ODIs (1-2) for the first time in history. Apparently, they are ready to put in hard yards to ensure the results doesn’t follow them in India. In the 16-man squad, the Aussies have picked some hard-hitting players and lethal bowlers. For the opening slot, they have captain Finch, D’Arcy Short and even Alex Carey.

India vs Australia 2019, 1st T20I, Vizag
Pat Cummins trains ahead of the Vizag T20I against India. Image Courtesy: Getty

The batsmen in the middle-order are named Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb; all-rounders – Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Ashton Turner. The bowling department looks decent with ranked no.1 Test bowler, Pat Cummins returning to the limited-overs setup. Besides, Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa will take care of the spin section.

Australia’s T20I squad for India series –

Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, D Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Peter Handscomb, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Ashton Turner, Adam Zampa