West Indies' Shai Hope And John Campbell Break All-Time Opening Partnership Record In ODIs

Last Update on: September 30th, 2019 at 01:02 pm

Recently updated on September 30th, 2019 at 01:02 pm

West Indies openers Shai Hope and John Campbell, on Sunday, broke the all-time opening partnership in one-day international (ODI) history. The West Indies stars achieved the milestone during the ongoing first ODI of the tri-series against Ireland in Dublin.  The two broke the record set by Pakistan openers Fakhar Zaman and Imam ul Haq last year. Zaman and Imam had added 304 runs for the first wicket against Zimbabwe last year.

Read More: IPL 2019: Jaydev Unadkat Lambasts Twitter User For ‘Enroll In Cricket Academy’ Comment

Shai Hope and Campbell added a mammoth 365 runs for the first wicket in 47.2 overs. Barry McCarthy broke the stand when he dismissed Campbell. Prior to his departure, Campbell 179 off just 137 balls. The knock was studded with 15 fours and 6 sixes. Three balls and four runs later, McCarthy struck again to remove Hope too. Hope scored 170 from 152 balls, studded with 22 fours and 2 sixes.

Also Read:ICC World Cup 2019: Stuart Broad Predicts the Leading Run-Scorer

West Indies' Shai Hope And John Campbell Break All-Time Opening Partnership Record In ODIs
Shai Hope and John Campbell (Credits: Getty)

Also Read: IPL 2019: Three Players Sunrisers Hyderabad Can Release in Next Season

Hope and Campbell also became just the second pair in ODIs to stitch 300-run for the opening stand. For India, Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly hold the record for the highest opening partnership. The duo scored 258 runs together for the opening wicket against Kenya in 2001.

Read More: Shahid Afridi Used Sachin Tendulkar’s Bat for Record 37-Ball Ton

Here is a list showing the top ten opening-wicket stand:

Partners Runs Team Opposition Ground
Shai Hope, John Campbell 365 West Indies v Ireland Dublin
Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman 304 Pakistan v Zimbabwe Bulawayo
WU Tharanga, ST Jayasuriya 286 Sri Lanka v England Leeds
DA Warner, TM Head 284 Australia v Pakistan Adelaide
Q de Kock, HM Amla 282* South Africa v Bangladesh Kimberley
WU Tharanga, TM Dilshan 282 Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe Pallekele
JAH Marshall, BB McCullum 274 New Zealand v Ireland Aberdeen
SC Ganguly, SR Tendulkar 258 India v Kenya Paarl
JJ Roy, AD Hales 256* England v Sri Lanka Birmingham
SC Ganguly, SR Tendulkar 252 India v Sri Lanka Colombo (RPS)


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.