Ausw vs NzW
Australia Women's Cricket team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: October 11th, 2020 at 04:26 pm

The BCCI announced the squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge in 2020. The women’s T20 challenge 2020 will take place between 4th to the 9th of November in the UAE with the likely venues being Sharjah. While Indian cricketers have undoubtedly made it, the striking feature was the Australian cricketers not getting the nod. The reason for the same has been revealed.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Match 28: Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Kolkata Knight Riders: KKR Predicted XI

The teams for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 are Supernovas, Trailblazers, and Velocity. The likes of Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia, Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami have all received inclusions. All these renowned Indian cricketers have not played professional cricket for several months.

Amongst the overseas recruits, Chamari Atapattu, Sophie Ecclestone, Daniel Wyatt, and Sune Luus have made it. The BCCI has asked all the Indian players to assemble in Mumbai by the 13th of October. All of them will serve the quarantine period for six days mandatorily and will do the same after reaching the UAE. The UAE is also currently hosting the 2020 edition of Indian Premier League (IPL).

Here’s why Australian players are not included for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020:

The Australian women cricketers have not received the nod since the Women’s Big Bash League dates clashes with the tournament in the UAE. The competition down under begins on the 25th of October and will continue till the 29th of November. All eight teams will take part in 59 matches with Brisbane Heat as the defending champions, having lifted the title last two times.

Also Read: Mithali Raj Lauds BCCI For Giving Women’s Cricket Its Due