India vs South Africa 2020, Five Players To Watch Out ForWisden T20I Team Of The Decade, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah
Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah in the frame. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Last Update on: December 30th, 2019 at 11:06 am

After announcing ODI and Test teams of the decade, Wisden announced the T20I Team of the decade. Much like ODI and Test teams, the T20I team of the decade witnessed quite a few surprising inclusions and exclusions. The Australian skipper Aaron Finch will lead the side while Jos Buttler set to do the wicket-keeping role for the team.

In total, three Australian players find a place in the lineup alongside two Indian players and two England players. They also named two Afghanistan players and one each from Sri Lanka and New Zealand. The surprising fact about the squad is that none of the players from West Indies finds a place in the lineup of Wisden’s T20I Team Of the Decade.

Aaron Finch, T20I Team Of The Decade, Wisden T20I Team Of The Decade
Aaron Finch (Image Courtesy: Getty)

Aaron Finch, Colin Munro to open the innings:

The asked the current Australian skipper Aaron Finch to open the innings alongside Colin Munro of New Zealand. Finch scored 1,878 runs at a strike rate of 156 while Colin Munro scored 1506 runs at a strike rate of 160. Virat Kohli followed them at number 3 position, having scored 2,633 runs at an incredible average of 52.66.

At number 4, they preferred a fast-bowling all-rounder in the name of Shane Watson. The Australian was a scintillating performer for his national team during his times. He scored 1376 runs and picked 45 wickets to his name on the international stage. The crucial number 5 handed to Glenn Maxwell, who garnered a massive name for his incredible heroics on the field.

5 Retired Cricketers Who Can Still Rock The Stage
Shane Watson. Credit: Getty Images

He scored1576 runs at a strike-rate of 160. Maxwell is one of those batsmen, who can score at any slot for the team. Jos Buttler of England will take the wicket-keeper role of the team after his special knocks in T20I cricket in this decade. He scored 1260 runs at a strike rate of 138.

Read More – Only one Indian in Ricky Ponting’s Test Team Of The Decade

The all-rounder slots were given to Mohammad Nabi of Afghanistan and David Willey of England. Both have been exceptional performers for their respective teams in this format of the game. Nabi scored 1316 runs alongside 69 wickets while Willey picked 45 wickets and a useful batsman down the order.

Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga to deal death overs:

Coming to the spinner slot, Rashid Khan bags the spot. He had an incredible journey so far with the ball, across the globe. No bowler took more wickets than Rashid’s 84. In fast-bowler department, Bumrah finds a spot in this team despite only making his debut in 2016. Bumrah’s overall economy rate of 6.71 is the second-best in the world among quick bowlers, behind Dale Steyn.

Lasith Malinga | Cricket |
Lasith Malinga. Credit: Twitter

He picked 51 wickets at a strike rate of 18.00. The ace bowler of Sri Lanka, Lasith Malinga will finish the chart after recording such an incredible stats to his name.  Despite bowling his overs at the top and the tail of the innings, Malinga returned a superb economy rate of 7.15. He picked 82 wickets to his name in this decade.

Wisden’s T20I Team Of The Decade:

Aaron Finch (c), Colin Munro, Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Jos Buttler (wk), Mohammad Nabi, David Willey, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga


I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!