Women's Asia Cup 2018: India Squashes Pakistan to Enter Final

Published - 09 Jun 2018, 12:36 PM | Updated - 10 Jan 2019, 12:24 AM

Indian Women's Cricket Team
BCCI names ODI and T20I squad against Sri Lanka. Credit: BCCI

India Women’s Cricket team banked on a clinical performance to thrash their neighbours Pakistan by seven wickets to reach the finals of the 2018 Women’s Asia Cup.

Meanwhile, India had played an aggressive brand of cricket and rightly are in the finals of the tournament. So far, they have lost only one game against Bangladesh.

However, Pakistan opted to bat first after winning the toss at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur. Much to their distress, they failed to justify the captain’s decision. They lost wickets at regular intervals, as India bowlers marked their dominance once again.

Led by Ekta Bisht, Pakistan lost half of their pack within 41 runs. Bisht was spectacular with ball returning with three for 14 in her full quota. The other bowlers also supported brilliantly to keep things tight at the other end.

Credit: BCCI

Sana Mir, however, played an unbeaten knock of 20 runs to take her team’s score over the 50-run mark. Pakistan managed to score only 72 runs at the end of the halfway mark for the loss of seven wickets.

In reply, meanwhile, things didn’t look too smooth for India either, as they lost two wickets within five runs. Anam Amin removed Mithali Raj and Deepti Sharma, both for a duck to give Pakistan a brilliant start.

Since then, it was one-way track, as skipper Harmanpreet Kaur, and Smriti Mandhana took control of the game.

The pair added 65 runs for the third wicket, playing some glorious shots through the ground. However, Mandhana (38) failed to finish the game, as she departed with three runs left.

However, Kaur (34*) finished the game in style to take her team to yet another final of the Asia Cup.

Brief Score: Pakistan 72/7 (Sana Mir 20*, Ekta Bisht 3/14) lost to India 75/3 (Mandhana 38, Anam Amin 2/10) by seven wickets.

Also Read: Schedule of India’s U19 tour of Sri Lanka announced


Harmanpreet Kaur Pakistan national cricket team