Yere Goud and Sreenath Aravind Appointed as Karnataka Coaches

Published - 09 Jun 2018, 11:56 AM

Yere Goud Sreenath Aravind
Yere Goud and Sreenath Aravind named Karnataka coaches.

Former cricketers, Yere Goud and Sreenath Arvind, got appointed as Karnataka’s new coaches. The news was confirmed by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) on Friday. Goud in all likelihood will be the new batting coach. On the other hand, Sreenath Aravind will take up the role of the new bowling coach.

Goud never managed to realise his talent beyond the first-class level. However, he was a veteran in the domestic circuit. In a career spanning 17 years, Goud scored more than 7000 runs. Among those 17 years, he had spent ten with Railways. His average was an impressive 45.53. Goud eventually announced his retirement in 2012.

Meanwhile, the left-arm seamer, Sreenath Aravind announced his retirement early in the year. Sreenath was also a veteran in the domestic circuit. He represented Karnataka in 56 first-class encounters bagging 186 wickets in the process.

Aravind also went on to represent the senior national team in a solitary T20I. His lone match in national colours came in 2015 against South Africa. He bagged the wicket of Faf du Plessis. However, India went on to lose that match.

Also Read: TNCA All Set to Launch One Day and T20 Tournaments for Women

The pacer played for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League. He represented the franchise in 38 clashes and bagged 45 wickets at an average of 23.08.

Arwind conceded runs at an economy rate of 8.20. His best figures are 4/14 which came way back in the 2011 edition of the tournament.

However, his retirement early in the year prevented any possible national comeback. Given Aravind’s age and future chances, his departure was perhaps the correct decision.

Aravind and Goud to replace Shashikanth and Anil Kumar 

The duo will replace the likes of PV Shashikanth and GK Anil Kumar. They were appointed respective coaches just last season. Under their tenure, Karnataka reached the semi-final of the Ranji Trophy.

They lost a close match against the eventual champions Vidarbha. However, they went on to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Also Read: Ashish Nehra’s Advice During the IPL Helped Me a Lot: Umesh Yadav