Zimbabwe Announce Squad for the 2018 World Cup Qualifier

The ICC 2019 Cricket World Cup is almost a year away, and the tournament has already taken shape. Eight teams have already booked their spot in the 12th edition of the cricket World Cup. The next edition will be a ten team tournament with the remaining two places to be decided in the upcoming World Cup qualifier.

Zimbabwe, 2018 World Cup Qualifier
Windies will also play in the World Cup qualifier (Photo by Martin Hunter/Getty Images)

Ten teams will be vying for the remaining two spots in the 2018 World Cup qualifier to be played in Zimbabwe. The tournament is scheduled to begin on 4th March.

Sean Williams, Zimbabwe
Sean Williams has been included in the side for the 2018 World Cup qualifiers. (Photo credit should read LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)

In a bid to qualify for the ICC mega event, the teams have started their preparations for the qualifying tournament.

Hosts Zimbabwe have announced their squad for the upcoming World Cup Qualifiers and have recalled star all-rounder Sean Williams and batsman Cephas Zhuwao in place of Ryan Burl and Tarisai Musakanda.

Williams last played for Zimbabwe in July last year against Sri Lanka. But a slump in form with both bat and ball resulted in his exclusion.

Sean Williams
Sean Williams. (Photo credit should read LAKRUWAN WANNIARACHCHI/AFP/Getty Images)

However, the 31-year-old has found some form recently in the domestic circuit with the Tuskers. He has been recalled due to his domestic run.

Zhuwao, on the other hand, has been returned to the side having last played an international game for Zimbabwe in 2011.

Zimbabwe cricket’s Twitter handled posted:

“@ZimCricketv have recalled Sean Williams and Cephas Zhuwao for the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier. The two were not named in the initial 15-player squad, but have been included in place of Ryan Burl and Tarisai Musakanda,” 

Squad: Graeme Cremer (c), Sean Williams, Tendai Chisoro, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Peter Moor, Solomon Mire, Blessing Muzarabani, Cephas Zhuwao, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller.

Here’s the news feed:

UAE’s Ahmed Raza Dreams of Getting Chris Gayle’s Wicket in ICC World Cup Qualifiers

India To Play 30 ODIs Before 2019 World Cup

Prabhangad Singh

Ardent Sports lover, Cricket fanatic, Manchester United fan(GGMU), Roger Federer over Rafael Nadal