Five big players will miss the big upcoming Tri-series

Zimbabwe Announce Squad For T20I Triangular Series

Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Tuesday (June 26) have announced their 17-man squad for the upcoming Twenty20 International triangular series against Australia and Pakistan scheduled for 1-8 July in Harare.

Elton Chigumbura, who last played for his country in November 2016, has been included in the team. Apart from Chigumbura, Zimbabwean team has pinned their hopes on the likes of Hamilton Masakadza, Kyle Jarvis, Solomon Mire, Chamu Chibhabha and Chris Mpofu.

Zimbabwe Announce Squad For T20I Triangular Series
Elton Chigumbura (Credits: AP)

As expected, Zimbabwe selectors have not included the big names in the squad.

Former skipper Graeme Cremer, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Craig Ervine and Sean Williams are not a part of the side.

They pulled out of the squad and have made it clear that they need their pay cheque before playing for Zimbabwe again.

Zimbabwe Announce Squad For T20I Triangular Series
Cremer and Taylor (Credits: AP)

Zimbabwe management has not paid the players their salaries for quite some time now. Not only that, the players are yet to receive the match fees from their tour of Sri Lanka, last July.

After promising last month they would settle their dues before the end of June, Zimbabwe recently admitted salaries would only be paid by the end of July.

Walter Chawaguta, the convener of selectors, said that the selectors included 17 players in the squad to give them more experience.

“Being a home series, we felt we had the liberty to play around with what we have and try and open up the floor as much as possible after what has transpired in the last couple of months,” Chawaguta told reporters while being quoted as saying by ZC.


“So in order to give few more players opportunities, we decided to pick a 17-man squad. Obviously, Australia and Pakistan are completely different teams. So tactically it means we have to draw from the resources that we have to take care of the challenges that lie ahead,” he added.

Chawaguta also spoke on why the senior players were not selected.

“They were approached after not availing themselves for the selection process that we put in place and still they personally gave me their word that they are not available for selection until their issues are sorted out. Hopefully, this settles the lies that have been making the rounds,” he said.

Zimbabwe and Pakistan will get the T20I series underway on Sunday (July 1). Each team will play four matches in a round-robin format before the top two sides meet in the final on eighth of July.

Zimbabwe T20I squad:

Cephas Zhuwao; Chamu Chibhabha; Brian Chari; Tarisai Musakanda; Malcolm Waller; Peter Moor; Tendai Chisoro; Kyle Jarvis; Brandon Mavuta; Blessing Muzarabani; Chris Mpofu; Ryan Burl, Solomon Mire, Ryan Murray, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.