Joe Root
Joe Root (PC- Mike Egerton-PA-PA Wire)

Last Update on: October 2nd, 2023 at 05:06 pm

England’s ace batter Joe Root recalled the highly dramatic final of the 2019 World Cup, where England beat New Zealand on a boundary count after the super over was tied between these two teams.

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first in the final, Henry Nicholls scored a gritty half-century and New Zealand put up a total of 241 in their 50 overs. England were 86/4 while chasing but after that, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler had a really good partnership of 110 runs which put England back in the game.

Ben Stokes remained not out till the end on 84 as England got all out on 241 which resulted in a tie. The Super Over then was again a tie with both England and New Zealand scoring 15 runs in the Super over but the match was awarded to England based on the number of boundaries that they hit. During the last stage of the England innings, Stokes saw a throw from the far going to the boundary after clipping his bat which changed the course of the entire match.

Joe Root recalled these events and said that it was a pinch-yourself moment as what he witnessed was unbelievable. Joe Root didn’t have an auspicious final as he got out of Colin de Grandhomme’s delivery after scoring just 7 runs off 30 deliveries.

Joe Root Said That The Victory Was Sweet In The 2019 World Cup

“It is a pinch-yourself thing when you sit down and think about it. We had no right to win it but that makes it a bit sweeter. I just had a shocker of a day with the bat.

“It was one of the most frustrating innings I have played as an England player on one of the days when you really want to stand up and be counted, but there are so many times when individually you fail, but are part of something bigger than yourself and your mates pull you through, ” Joe Root said while talking to The Telegraph about the World Cup Final.

England will face New Zealand in the opening match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in Ahmedabad. The two finalists of the 2019 World Cup will again lock horns, and this time, the boundary count rule is not going to be there. After England’s World Cup victory, ICC removed the boundary count rule. Now if the super-over is tied, the teams will play another super-over to determine the winners.


Mayank is an Author at Cricketaddictor. Mayank is the latest addition to the team having joined the organization in September 2023. Mayank has so far written more than 350 articles for the website.