Nasser Hussain {PC: Twitter}
Nasser Hussain {PC: Twitter}

Last Update on: October 1st, 2023 at 10:57 pm

Former England cricketer Nasser Hussain picked his ‘Ultimate World Cup Playing XI’ ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023. The cricketer-turned-commentator had to pick one player from each country and he had to pick one wildcard entry as well. 

Nasser Hussain surprised many as he left out the leading run-getter of ODIs this year in Shubman Gill. The batter has been the mainstay of the Indian batting lineup and has been piling up huge amounts of runs for his team in the 50-over format. He’s currently the No.2 ranked batter in the ICC rankings.

For the opening spot, he backed Indian captain Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock at the top. The duo have opened in the IPL together for Mumbai Indians and they gelled well together. 

At No.3, Nasser Hussain slotted Pakistan captain Babar Azam. The right-hander is currently the No.1 ranked batter in the ICC rankings. The former England cricketer then backed Virat Kohli to bat at No.4. The senior batter has been the backbone of the Indian team for more than one decade and is the leading batter in the ODIs. Kohli was his wildcard entry as he wanted to fit in both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in his team.

Jos Buttler got the nod ahead in Nasser Hussain’s playing XI for the ICC World Cup 2023. The England skipper will don the gloves. Shakib Al Hasan along with Netherlands’ Bas De Leede were the two all-rounders in his team. 

Afghanistan’s spinner Rashid Khan will be the lead spinner in the team along with Sri Lanka’s Maheesh Theekshana. Nasser Hussain picked two pacers in his team in Pat Cummins and Trent Boult. The duo has been fantastic for Australia and New Zealand respectively. 

Nasser Hussain Picks “Ultimate World Cup XI”

Here’s Nasser Hussain’s “Ultimate World Cup 11”:

Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Babar Azam, Virat Kohli, Jos Buttler, Shakib Al Hasan, Bas De Leede, Rashid Khan, Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, Maheesh Theekshana.

Here’s a full schedule of the ICC World Cup

Match NumberMatchesMatch DateMatch Time (IST)Venue
Match 1England vs New Zealand5-Oct2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 2Pakistan vs Netherlands6-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 3Bangladesh vs Afghanistan7-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 4South Africa vs Sri Lanka7-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 5India vs Australia8-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 6New Zealand vs Netherlands9-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 7England vs Bangladesh10-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 8Pakistan vs Sri Lanka10-Oct2:00 PMHyderabad
Match 9India vs Afghanistan11-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 10Australia vs South Africa12-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 11New Zealand vs Bangladesh13-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 12India vs Pakistan14-Oct2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 13England vs Afghanistan15-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 14Australia vs Sri Lanka16-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 15South Africa vs Netherlands17-Oct2:00 PMDharamsala
Match 16New Zealand vs Afghanistan18-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 17India vs Bangladesh19-Oct2:00 PMPune
Match 18Australia vs Pakistan20-Oct2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 19Netherlands vs Sri Lanka21-Oct10:30 AMLucknow
Match 20England vs South Africa21-Oct2:00 PMMumbai
Match 21India vs New Zealand22-Oct2:00 PMDharamsala
Match 22Pakistan vs Afghanistan23-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 23South Africa vs Bangladesh24-Oct2:00 PMMumbai
Match 24Australia vs Netherlands25-Oct2:00 PMDelhi
Match 25England vs Sri Lanka26-Oct2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 26Pakistan vs South Africa27-Oct2:00 PMChennai
Match 27Australia vs New Zealand28-Oct10:30 AMDharamsala
Match 28Netherlands vs Bangladesh28-Oct2:00 PMKolkata
Match 29India vs England29-Oct2:00 PMLucknow
Match 30Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka30-Oct2:00 PMPune
Match 31Pakistan vs Bangladesh31-Oct2:00 PMKolkata
Match 32New Zealand vs South Africa1-Nov2:00 PMPune
Match 33India vs Sri Lanka2-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
Match 34Netherlands vs Afghanistan3-Nov2:00 PMLucknow
Match 35New Zealand vs Pakistan4-Nov10:30 AMBengaluru
Match 36England vs Australia4-Nov2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 37India vs South Africa5-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
Match 38Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka6-Nov2:00 PMDelhi
Match 39Australia vs Afghanistan7-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
Match 40England vs Netherlands8-Nov2:00 PMPune
Match 41New Zealand vs Sri Lanka9-Nov2:00 PMBengaluru
Match 42South Africa vs Afghanistan10-Nov2:00 PMAhmedabad
Match 43Australia vs Bangladesh11-Nov10:30 AMPune
Match 44England vs Pakistan11-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
Match 45India vs Netherlands12-Nov2:00 PMBengaluru
1st Semi-FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.15-Nov2:00 PMMumbai
2nd Semi-FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.16-Nov2:00 PMKolkata
FinalT.B.C. vs T.B.C.19-Nov2:00 PMAhmedaba

Ankitjit SinghContent Writer

Ankitjit is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since April 2023 and he has written more than 1800 articles for the website.