Watch: Mohammad Rizwan Hilariously Celebrates Babar Azam's Dismissal Against New Zealand

Published - 29 Sep 2023, 06:47 PM

Mohammad Rizwan and Ish Sodhi
Mohammad Rizwan and Ish Sodhi. Image Credits: Twitter

Mohammad Rizwan came up with a hilarious moment on the field during the World Cup warm-up game between Pakistan and New Zealand at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Friday (September 29).

The incident took place when Babar Azam was facing Ish Sodhi in the 18th over of the innings. Just as Sodhi was to bowl the third delivery of the over, Babar Azam signaled him to stop. However, Sodhi decided to bowl the delivery and the ball went on to crash into the stumps.

And it was followed by the hilarious incident involving Mohammad Rizwan. Soon after the ball hit the stumps, the Pakistan star was seen celebrating it with Sodhi. Both of them shook hands and even shared a hug.


Talking about the game, Pakistan were on 118 for 2 after 24 overs. Babar Azam was batting on 54 while Mohammad Rizwan was on 40. Earlier in the game, Imam-ul-Haq (1) and Abdullah Shafique (14) failed to get going.

Pakistan eye World Cup title:

Pakistan are one of the favorites for this year’s ODI World Cup. While they have faced heavy criticism in recent times for their failure in the Asia Cup, the Men in Green do have the ability to go all the way in the competition. In Babar Azam, Shaheen Afridi, and Haris Rauf, Pakistan have some of the best cricketers in the world in their ranks.

Pakistan are eyeing their second ODI World Cup title and first since winning the inaugural title in 1992. New Zealand are also a strong contender for the World Cup. Having finished runner-up in the last two editions, the Black Caps are eying their maiden World Cup title.

New Zealand Squad: Will Young, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w), Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Mark Chapman, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson

Pakistan Squad: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Babar Azam(c), Mohammad Rizwan(w), Iftikhar Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Usama Mir


Babar Azam ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 ICC ODI World Cup 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 Ish Sodhi Mohammad Rizwan New Zealand national cricket team Pakistan national cricket team