ICC T20 World Cup 2021: England Announce Their Squad For The Tournament
ICC T20 World Cup 2021: England Announce Their Squad For The Tournament

All-rounder Ben Stokes has not been named in England’s 15-man preliminary squad for the T20 World Cup 2021, to be held in the UAE and Oman from October 17. The champion cricketer is currently on an indefinite break to tend to his mental wellbeing while also recovering from a finger injury.

Stokes, Man of the Match in the 2019 World Cup final, pulled out of the Test series against India at home and from the second half of the IPL 2021.

Another big news in the England squad is the return of left-arm pacer Tymal Mills, who last played for England in February 2017. Following his dropping four years ago, he has build-up a reputation as a T20 specialist and has been terrific in the death overs.

Tymal Mills
Tymal Mills in action during the Hundred. (Photo: Twitter)

He helped Sussex reach Finals Day in this year’s T20 Blast and was one of the best pacers in recently-concluded The Hundred, helping Southern Brave lift the title.

England Men’s Head Coach, Chris Silverwood, said:

“We are excited about the prospect of challenging to win the ICC T20 World Cup. I believe we have selected a squad that covers all bases and has the depth to be successful in what is expected to be a very competitive tournament featuring the best players in the world.

“Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all skills to succeed at this level. His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave’s respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage.

“He will add variety to our bowling unit, and we can’t wait to see him play in a major international tournament.”

Eoin Morgan, England, 2019 World Cup
Eoin Morgan poses with the 2019 World Cup. Image-Getty

David Willey, who missed the selection for the ODI World Cup two years ago, finds a place for this year’s T20 event. Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, and Chris Woakes are other in-form all-rounders in Eoin Morgan-led squad. Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, and James Vince are the travelling reserves.

The 50-over champions will be looking to become the first team to hold both ICC titles simultaneously. Also, to note, this is a preliminary squad and can be modified till October 10th.

The Three Lions are scheduled to play four warm-up matches ahead of the T20 World Cup. They will travel to Pakistan for a 2-match T20I series on October 14 and 15. England are grouped with Australia, South Africa, defending champions West Indies, and two more teams who will come from the ‘Round 1’, in Group 1 of the Super 12 stage.

England preliminary ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Travelling Reserves: Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Also Read: 3 Reasons Why Yuzvendra Chahal Deserved A Place In India’s Squad For T20 World Cup