Ravi Shastri, Virat Kohli, India
Ravi Shastri, Virat Kohli.(Photo: Twitter)

The BCCI will be announcing the 15-man India squad for the T20 World Cup next week. It has been reported that the selectors will name the squad after the India-England fourth Test match at The Oval, which is scheduled from September 2 to 6.

Australia and New Zealand have already announced their 15-man squads, plus the reserve players who will be travelling to the UAE with the main squad. The deadline for all participating teams to finalize and submit their contingent is 10th September, a source in the know of developments told ANI.

“We are looking at Monday or Tuesday for now, but the date isn’t fixed yet. But it will happen by Friday as 10th is the ICC’s cut-off date,” the source said. 

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav is the in-form batsman. (Image Credit: Twitter)

The selection panel, which will also consider the thoughts of coach Ravi Shastri and skipper Virat Kohli, have a massive task at hand to choose the best 15 players out of several who have proven themselves. A few reserve players will be added as well.

India to meet Pakistan on October 24

The rivalry between India and Pakistan is set to resume as both sides have been drafted in the same group, Group 2, for the Super 12 stage. They will meet on October 24 in Dubai. Alongside them are placed New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two teams who will qualify from Round 1, the Qualifying stage.

India have never lost to Pakistan in a World Cup game, be it the ODI or T20 tournament. Virat Kohli’s side will also start the tournament as one of the favourites.

Group 1 comprises England, South Africa, Australia, defending champions West Indies, and two teams from Round 1.

T20 World Cup, West Indies
West Indies. Image Credits: Twitter

The Round 1 (qualifying round). which will take place in Oman and UAE, will commence on October 17 in Oman. Hosts Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Bangladesh and clubbed in one group, while Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia in another. Two teams from each group proceed to the Super 12 stage.

The Super 12 stage starts on October 23 with the clash between Australia and South Africa in the afternoon, and England and West Indies in the evening. The semi-finals are scheduled for November 10 and 11, with the final in Dubai on November 14.

Also Read: India vs England 2021: I Don’t Think Cheteshwar Pujara Needs Advice From Other People; He Has Played 80 Plus Tests – Ajit Agarkar