ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022: New Zealand Squad For The Tournament Announced; Kane Williamson To Lead The BlackCaps

Updated - 20 May 2024, 12:31 PM

New Zealand Playing 11 vs Pakistan– 3rd T20I, 2024
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Table of Contents

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced a 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia in October-November. For the first time, Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell were picked for the T20 World Cup. Kane Williamson will lead New Zealand in the T20 World Cup 2022.

In the 2021 T20 World Cup, the Kiwi team reached the final, but Kane Williamson’s team faced a defeat in the title match in the UAE.

Blackcaps opener Martin Guptill will be playing his seventh T20 World Cup, and Nathan McCullum and Ross Taylor are the other New Zealanders who have appeared in six T20 World Cups.

Martin Guptill (Iamge Credits: Twitter)
Martin Guptill (Image Credits: Twitter)

The right-arm fast bowler, Adam Milne has retained his spot in the World Cup squad and he was selected as an injury replacement for Lockie Ferguson in last year’s World Cup. Kyle Jamieson, who is recovering from a back injury, was left out of the squad. Todd Astle and Tim Seifert failed to keep their place in the team. Devon Conway has been included in the team as the main wicketkeeper.

Coach Gary Stead was pleased with the composition of the team, with some players from last year’s group ensuring a good level of performance.

Kane Williamson and Gary Stead
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and head coach Gary Stead. Credits: Twitter

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end,” said coach New Zealand Gary Stead.

“With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism,” said Stead.

New Zealand squad for T20 World Cup and tri-series: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

New Zealand will play a T20 tri-series against Pakistan and Bangladesh starting on October 7 in Christchurch. The tri-series will be the last series at home before they depart for Australia on October 15.

Also read:IND vs AUS: India Needs To Come Out Of Hero Worship – Gautam Gambhir