ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh Unveil Jersey Inspired By Royal Bengal Tiger And Sundarban Ahead Of Marquee Event

Published - 01 Oct 2022, 12:37 AM

Bangladesh (Credits: Twitter)

Bangladesh have unveiled their jersey for the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Bangladesh Cricket Board announced the news on their official social media handles on Friday (September 30).

The jersey has been inspired by Bangladesh’ famous muslin textile – jamdani, the Royal Bengal Tiger and Sundarban. The jersey has Bangladesh’ traditional green and red shade. While the green colour covers the major portion of the jersey, the red shade can be seen on the sides.

Bangladesh. (Photo: Twitter)

The jersey has prints of leaves on it, inspired by the Sundarban. Face of a Royal Bengal Tiger is also printed on the front side of the jersey. Revealing the jersey through a video, Bangladesh Cricket Board stated: “We will continue our drive to upholding the pride we take in the jamdani, the Royal Bengal Tiger and the Sundarban.”

Bangladesh squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022:

Bangladesh have already announced their squad for the marquee event in Australia. Bangladesh are placed in Group 2 alongside India, Pakistan, South Africa and two qualifying teams. They will open their campaign on October 24. Before the T20 World Cup, the Tigers are also scheduled to play a tri-series in New Zealand, also involving Pakistan.

The same 15-member squad announced for the World Cup will take part in the tri-series. The likes of Mahmudullah, Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan and Mohammad Naim have faced the axe while the likes of Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Hasan Mahmud and Najmul Hossain Shanto have found a spot in the team.

Shakib Al Hasan will be leading Bangladesh in the tournament. Bangladesh would be looking to put up a better show in the tournament after a spate of poor performances in recent times.

Bangladesh squad:

Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mossadek Hossain, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain, Nasum Ahmed


ICC T20 Word Cup 2022