ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Explained – What Is The Impact Of Namibia's Win Over Sri Lanka On India's Group In T20 World Cup

Published - 16 Oct 2022, 05:25 PM

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka bags an unwanted record in the T20 World Cup opener. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The Round 1 of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 began with an all-time World Cup upset as Namibia National Cricket Team defeated reigning Asia Cup champions Sri Lanka National Cricket Team by 55 runs at the GMHBA Stadium, South Geelong, Victoria, on Sunday, October 16.

The Super 12 round of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will commence on October 22 and the final is set to take place on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Namibia Cricket Team
Photo Credit: (ICC)

Eight teams, including two high-profile names – former champions West Indies and Sri Lanka – alongside Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, the Netherlands, Namibia and Scotland are battling it out for the 4 vacant spots in the Super 12 stage.

The teams have divided into two groups in Round 1 with Group A comprising Sri Lanka, Namibia, the Netherlands and UAE while Group B comprises of West Indies, Zimbabwe, Scotland and Ireland.

Namibia’s Win Over Sri Lanka Could Result In India’s Group Becoming ‘Group Of Death’

Sri Lanka Cricket Team, Asia Cup 2022
Sri Lanka Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

In the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Round 1 opener Namibia posted a score of 163/7 on the board. Defending the target, the Gerhard Erasmus-led side bundled out the Dasun Shanaka-led side for 108 in 19 overs.

This was Namibia’s first T20I win against a top 10 ranked opponent and their fourth ever win against an ICC Full Member Nation.

Meanwhile, the win of Namibia over Sri Lanka can have huge ramifications on the entire competition. According to the rules, the top two teams from the two qualifier groups will enter the Super 12 stage.

The Group A winners and the second-placed team in Group B will join England, New Zealand, Australia and Afghanistan in Group 1. Also, the Group B winners and the Group A runners-up will join India, Pakistan, South Africa and Bangladesh in Group 2.

Two-time T20 World Cup winners West Indies National Cricket Team are the favourites to win Group B and Sri Lanka National Cricket Team, after facing the defeat against Gerhard Erasmus-led side, could finish second in Group A.

All captains of T20 World Cup 2022
Photo Credit: (Twitter/T20 World Cup)

This scenario will lead to both West Indies and Sri Lanka joining India National Cricket Team, South Africa National Cricket Team, Bangladesh National Cricket Team and Pakistan National Cricket Team and forming a Group of Death.

The Dasun Shanaka-led Lankan Team have been highly unpredictable as they recently defeated India National Cricket Team in the Asia Cup 2022. Also, they defeated Pakistan National Cricket Team twice and won the Asia Cup championship.

Also Read: IND vs PAK: Watch: Impressed With 11-Year-Old, Rohit Sharma Invites Him To Bowl To Him In The Nets



ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 ICC T20 World Cup 2022 India National Cricket Team Namibia National Cricket Team Sri Lanka national cricket team