Mohammed Siraj
Mohammed Siraj, Image Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: October 14th, 2022 at 05:30 pm

India has announced Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement and announced their final 15-man lineup for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

India has named two players in the reserves: Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur Along with Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi.

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah. (Photo: Getty Images)

In the final 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia, Mohammad Shami has taken Jasprit Bumrah’s place. Shami was originally listed as one of the three reserve players, but ahead of the competition, he has been added to the main squad.

With Bumrah’s back injury ruling him out of the T20 World Cup, India was dealt a severe blow. They’ve decided to use Shami’s expertise for the major event that will start this weekend.

Mohammed Shami. (Photo: Twitter)
Mohammed Shami. (Photo: Twitter)

Shami was pivotal in Gujarat Titan’s success during their first season in the Indian Premier League, even though he hasn’t played in T20Is since the last T20 World Cup. He took 20 wickets in 16 games, ranking sixth in the tournament with an economy rate of 8.

Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have been named as backups:

A back injury prevented Deepak Chahar, who was originally listed in the reserves, from travelling to Australia. Along with Shreyas Iyer and Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have been named as members of India’s reserves. The three players have already arrived in Australia and have joined the group.

Shardul Thakur
Shardul Thakur. (Photo: Twitter)

On Sunday, October 23, at Melbourne Cricket Ground, India will face Pakistan in the opening match of their T20 World Cup campaign. In Group 2 of the Super 12, South Africa, Pakistan, and Bangladesh will compete against India. Two more Round 1 teams from the competition, which begins on October 16, will join them.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup:  Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami.

Standby Players: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: 5 New Rules That ICC Will Introduce In The World Cup