IND vs NED: Indian Star Batter Virat Kohli Surpasses Chris Gayle To Become Second Leading Scorer In T20 World Cup History

Virat Kohli
Image Credits: Twitter

India beat the Netherlands comprehensively by 56 runs in their second match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Thursday, October 27. India registered a dramatic four-wicket victory over Pakistan in their opening match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in front of 90,000 fans at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday, October 23.

The Men in Blue produced a solid batting display, with Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav all scoring half-centuries. Virat and Suryakumar put on an unbeaten 95-run partnership for the third wicket in just 48 balls as India put 179 runs on the board for the loss of two wickets. This was Kohli’s second consecutive half-century in this tournament, and he ended the match unbeaten on 62 off 44 balls.

Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav
Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav (PC-Getty Images)

Virat Kohli Becomes 2nd Leading Run-Scorer In ICC T20 World Cups

Virat Kohli is yet to be dismissed in the ongoing T20 World Cup and he has scored 144 runs in two matches. The right-handed batsman scored an unbeaten 82 in India’s win over Pakistan and followed it up with 62 runs against the Netherlands.

Virat Kohli
(Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

The 33-year-old has now scored 989 runs in 23 T20 WC matches at an average of 89.90 and he is just 11 runs away from joining Mahela Jayawardene in the 1000-run club. Kohli also surpassed Chris Gayle in the list of highest run-scorers in men’s T20 World Cups. The West Indies legend scored 965 runs in 33 matches at an average of 34.46.

Most Runs In T20 World Cups

  • Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka) – 1016 runs in 31 matches
  • Virat Kohli (India) – 989 runs in 23 matches
  • Chris Gayle (West Indies) – 965 runs in 33 matches
  • Rohit Sharma (India) – 904 runs in 35 matches
  • Tilakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka) – 897 runs in 35 matches

Virat Kohli won the ‘Man of the Tournament’ award twice in the history of the tournament. He won in 2014 (319 runs) and 2016 (273 runs), becoming the only player to do so.

Also read: SA vs BAN: “Captaincy Is A Privilege Not A Right” – Former Indian Cricketer Aakash Chopra Lashes Out At Temba Bavuma After Failing Against Bangladesh

Related Posts