India Squad For T20 World Cup 2022 Announced; Mohammed Shami Back In The Reserves

Updated - 13 Sep 2022, 11:56 PM

India T20 World Cup 2022 Squad
India T20 World Cup 2022 Squad

BCCI on Monday announced the India squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The tournament is set to commence next month. The tournament will commence on October 16 with the qualifier matches. The T20 World Cup 2022 final will take place on November 13. A total of 45 matches will be played during the tournament.

The venue of the tournament is Australia. India will play their opening match of the T20 World Cup 2022 on October 23 against Pakistan at Melbourne Cricket Ground. India is part of group 2 in the tournament with teams like Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh in their pool.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankin

Rohit Sharma, T20 World Cup 2022
Rohit Sharma. Pic Credits: Twitter

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: Harshal Patel Not Named In India Squad For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Of RP Singh, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav Included

India Squad For T20 World Cup 2022 Announced, Rohit Sharma To Lead the Team

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, R Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, B Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

In group 1, there are teams like England, Australia, New Zealand and Afghanistan. Two more teams will each group later after the qualifier round. In the qualifier round, there are teams like Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, Netherlands, West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022: ‘He’d Be Beneficial For India: Sunil Gavaskar Makes One Change To The Asia Cup Team For The T20 WC

In the qualifier round, Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE, and the Netherlands are part of group A. West Indies, Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland are part of group B. After the qualifier round, the top two teams from each group will join the super 12 round.

India Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022:

Name Age Role
Rohit Sharma (C) 35 Batsman
KL Rahul (VC) 30 Batsman
Virat Kohli 33 Batsman
Suryakumar Yadav 31 Batsman
Deepak Hooda 27 All Rounder
Rishabh Pant (WK) 24 Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Dinesh Karthik (WK) 37 Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Hardik Pandya 28 All Rounder
Ravichandran Ashwin 35 All Rounder
Axar Patel 28 All Rounder
Harshal Patel 31 All Rounder
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 32 Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah 28 Bowler
Yuzvendra Chahal 32 Bowler
Arshdeep Singh 23 Bowler
Mohammed Shami 32 Bowler Reserves
Shreyas Iyer 27 Batsman Reserves
Deepak Chahar 30 Bowler Reserves
Ravi Bishnoi 22 Bowler Reserves
Australia with their maiden T20 World Cup. Image-Twitter

Australia is the defending champions of the tournament. Last year in T20 World Cup 2021, Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets to win their first ever T20 World Cup title.

India recently faced a poor show in Asia Cup 2022, where they could not even reach the final. The Rohit Sharma-led side lost back-to-back matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the super four round, which resulted in their elimination from the way to the final.

India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)
India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2022: “India Won’t Go To The T20 World Cup As Favourites” – RP Singh Believes Constant Shuffling Only Creating More Confusion

Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup 2022 title after defeating Pakistan in the final. Ahead of ICC T20 World Cup 2022, India will also play a T20I series against Australia and South Africa.

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score


BCCI ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 ICC T20 World Cup 2022 India National Cricket Team Rohit Sharma