India vs England
Image Source: Twitter

With the on-off Test done and dusted India and England gear up for a white-ball series comprising of three T20Is and three ODIs. The series starts with the T20Is with the first of them to be played at Southampton on July 7. India won both their T20 warmup games in the build-up to the first game. The T20I series will act as a dress rehearsal for both teams ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022.

The Test series ended on July 6 both teams get a day’s turnaround ahead of the start of the white-ball series. India are hungry and despite making a strong comeback in the white-ball leg of the tour. England, on the other hand, have a new captain in Jos Buttler who took over from Eoin Morgan trying to make a statement as well. 

Eoin Morgan Announces Retirement From International Cricket With Immediate Effect
Eoin Morgan Announces Retirement From International Cricket With Immediate Effect

India won the white-ball series against England when the side toured back to the country last year. Without Morgan, it will be interesting to see how England under Buttler imbibes from what was changed by the former skipper. 

IND vs ENG Match Preview – India Tour Of England 2022, 1st T20I


Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan
Ben Stokes, Eoin Morgan. (Photo: Twitter)

Ben Stokes, the captain of the England Test team is not a part of the England T20I team as are Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow. Eoin Morgan also announced his international retirement just ahead of the India series with Jos Buttler named the side’s next white-ball captain. A strong T20I side has been picked for the T20I series at home.

England after dominating Tet cricket recently in their own “Bazball” style will be looking to inculcate the same in their white-ball game as well. The World Champions definitely have a point to prove in the T20I series against India. 

England Squad 

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Richard Gleeson, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Matthew Parkinson, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, David Willey


Rohit Sharma. PC- Leicestershire Twitter
Rohit Sharma. PC- Leicestershire Twitter

Two different T20I squads have been named by the BCCI for the three T20Is. The squad that played the series against Ireland will play the first T20I against England. Only Rohit Sharma is back amongst the senior players for this game and will take back captaincy. India missed him dearly in the South Africa series followed by the one-off Test against England. He contracted covid and was ruled out for the Edgbaston Test. He is now fit and back in the side needing to pick it up from the Test loss. 

India Squad For 1st T20I 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Also Read: IND vs ENG: Rishabh Pant’s Improvement As A Wicket-keeper Has Been Remarkable Just Like MS Dhoni – Sanjay Manjrekar

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.