Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo: BCCI)

Danish Kaneria, a former Pakistani cricketer, recently said that Team India’s Suryakumar Yadav needs to be given a regular chance to participate in international cricket.

Danish Kaneria stated on his official YouTube channel on Friday that Suryakumar is more mature than Shreyas Iyer. He pleaded with the Indian team management to support Yadav and give him regular opportunities to play.

Danish Kaneria
Danish Kaneria Photo- Getty

Suryakumar Yadav returns to the side after missing the South Africa series due to injury. In addition, Rahul Tripathi received his first international call-up for the series, and wicketkeeper-batter Sanju Samson returned to the squad. Hardik Pandya, an all-rounder, will captain the team in both T20Is.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

Suryakumar has been a mainstay in the Indian T20I squad since making his debut against England last year. Injuries have kept him out of action in recent months, and the 31-year-old batter has missed several games for the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League. In his absence, Shreyas Iyer took charge of the Indian team.

‘Suryakumar Yadav did not have enough opportunities’: Danish Kaneria 

The former spinner stated that Iyer must improve his game if he wishes to keep his place in the team. He believes the right-hander must produce consistent results to carve out a spot in the team’s performer batting lineup.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo: Twitter)

Kaneria stated “According to reports, Rahul Dravid thinks Shreyas Iyer is more mature than Suryakumar Yadav. But I disagree with Dravid’s viewpoint. It would be inequitable if Suryakumar Yadav did not have enough opportunities at his age. Iyer will need to perform consistently if he is to keep his place in the team.”

India will face Ireland in a two-match T20I series beginning on Sunday in Dublin, led by stand-in skipper Hardik Pandya.

India squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Rahul Tripathi, Deepak Hooda, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi

Also Read: ENG vs NZ: Ben Stokes Becomes 3rd Batsman In Test History To Hit 100 Sixes