Aakash Chopra
Aakash Chopra. (Photo: Twitter)

Former India opener Aakash Chopra believes Deepak Hooda should be prioritized over Sanju Samson and Rahul Tripathi in the pecking order.

A return for the promising Sanju Samson and a first call-up for Rahul Tripathi were two of the more eye-catching decisions that are made by the India selectors for the upcoming Ireland T20I series.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Even though several first-choice players were benched, Samson and Tripathi were selected for the ongoing five-match T20I series against South Africa at home.
The BCCI, on the other hand, announced a 17-man team for the two T20Is in Dublin on June 26 and 28, which included both Samson and Tripathi. Allrounder Hardik Pandya will leader the team.

Rahul Tripathi. Photo-IPL
Rahul Tripathi. Photo-IPL

In the unavailability of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad have performed enough just to earn definite starts as openers. And, with Suryakumar Yadav recovering to full fitness, he will bat at number three. With Rishabh Pant rested, Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson, and Rahul Tripathi will compete for the fourth spot.

‘I believe they should play Hooda, even at number five’: Aakash Chopra

Former India opener Aakash Chopra believes Hooda should be prioritized in the pecking order. “The big question when Pant is not there (at no. 4) is who will end up replacing him?” Is it going to be Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, or Rahul Tripathi? Sky is in third place, with Ishan and Ruturaj filling the opening slots.”

Deepak Hooda
Deepak Hooda Image Credit — BCCI

“Deepak Hooda needs to be ranked fourth, per the pecking order. I believe Hooda, even at number five, should be used. “Pandya can bat at no. 4,” Aakash Chopra said on Friday on his YouTube channel.

India will face Ireland in a two-match T20I series. The two Twenty20 Internationals will be played on June 28 and 28 at Dubin’s Village Ground.

India Full Squad For Ireland Series: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Also Read: IND vs SA: It Does Offer Spinners A Little More Into The Match – Harshal Patel On Rajkot’s Big Dimensions