Robin Uthappa and Shivam Dube
Robin Uthappa and Shivam Dube (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: April 13th, 2022 at 11:08 am

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at last got off the mark in this year’s Indian Premier League (IPL) as they accomplished their first win of the competition. CSK crushed the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Tuesday at Navi Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium and came raging once again into the opposition in the wake of experiencing four defeats on the run.

CSK’s charge was driven by opening batter Robin Uthappa and all-rounder Shivam Dube, who has been one of the brilliant stars for CSK with the bat this season. CSK were diminished to 36/2 by the seventh over and they required an partnership to stay in the contest.

Robin Uthappa and Shivam Dube
Robin Uthappa and Shivam Dube (Image Credits: Twitter)

Shivam Dube The Aggressor

While Uthappa steadied the boat and took as much time as necessary at first, Dube just proceeded with his great run of form in Yellow and was forceful from the start. He brought down RCB’s driving wicket-taker this season Wanindu Hasaranga and the left-arm spinner Shahbaz Ahmed before Uthappa attacked Maxwell with three sixes in his third over.

Shivam Dube
Shivam Dube
(Image Credits: Twitter)

After that, the Uthappa-Dube show just went on endlessly to heap on Faf du Plessis-side’s misery. Pacers Mohammed Siraj, and Akash Deep ended up being costly as following Hasaranga, Uthappa and Dube went after them, ruining their figures and set up an enormous score for the reigning champs.

10 Year Old Record Broken

While Uthappa got out in the nineteenth over, however, the duo broke the record for the highest ever patnership for the third wicket in IPL history. Uthappa and Dube aggregated 165 runs for the third wicket off only 80 balls to get it done for Chennai. The pair outperformed Kumar Sangakkara and Cameron White’s 157-run represent Deccan Chargers against Pune Warriors India in IPL 2012.

Kumar Sangakkara and Cameron White
Kumar Sangakkara and Cameron White (Image Credits: Twitter)

Rajasthan Royals’ Ben Stokes and Sanju Samson are in the third spot with an unbeaten 152-run stand against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020 while Albie Morkel and Murali Vijay are behind them on fourth as they manufactured a 152-run association against RR in IPL 2010.

An aggregate of 216 was continuously going to be hard to pursue for the Bangalore side and, surprisingly, however any semblance of Dinesh Karthik and debutant Suyash Prabhudessai attempted their level best, they missed the mark by 23 runs.

Also Read: CSK vs RCB: Many People Have Told Me That I Bat Like Yuvraj Singh – Shivam Dube