Kane Williamson
Image Source: Twitter

IPL 2021: DC vs SRH- Match Preview. Delhi Capitals will be squaring up against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 33rd match of IPL 2021 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Wednesday. Both the teams met each other once this season on 25th April at MA Chidambaram Stadium.

Delhi Capitals won that game in a super over after the game ended in a tie. Kane Williamson top-scored in that match, playing an unbeaten 66-run knock off 51 balls, including 8 fours.

IPL 2021: DC vs SRH- Match Preview

Delhi Capitals 

Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals (Image Credit: Twitter)

For the last couple of seasons, Delhi have turned their fortunes around drastically. The change in captaincy and the inclusion of some world-class players have done wonders for them. Delhi reached the finals last year and are on course to reach the summit clash once more this year. They are currently sitting at the second position on the points table, having secured six wins in eight matches.

Prior to the start of IPL 2021, skipper Shreyas Iyer was ruled out of the tournament due to a shoulder injury. Rishabh Pant was handed the responsibility to lead the side in Iyer’s absence. Pant led from the front and was lauded for his tactical decisions on the field. Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw have been their two standout batsmen for them this year. The duo has scored close to 700 runs combined, giving ideal starts to DC at the top of the order.

DC struggled to find an ideal replacement for Shreyas Iyer at number three. They tried Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith but neither of them made good returns. Iyer is fit to play the second leg of IPL 2021 in UAE as his inclusion should further bolster the batting department. The middle-order, comprise the likes of Rishabh Pant, Hetmyer and Marcus Stoinis.

Avesh Khan
Avesh Khan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Avesh Khan is one of the finds of this year for Delhi. He took 14 wickets in the first half of IPL 2021, which didn’t allow Nortje to get back into the playing XI. Anrich Nortje didn’t play a single match for DC in IPL 2021. However, with Shreyas Iyer back in the team, the South African seamer might play his first game of IPL 2021 on Wednesday.

Complete Squad:

Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, Shikhar Dhawan, Lalit Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Anrich Nortje, Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Lukman Hussain Meriwala, M Siddharth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings, Pravin Dubey, Vishnu Vinod.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 

Sunrisers Hyderabad
Sunrisers Hyderabad (Image Credit: Twitter)

Sunrisers Hyderabad, on the other hand, are languishing at the bottom of the points table, having managed to secure a solitary win in 7 matches. They began their season on the worst possible note with three consecutive losses. They won their first game against Punjab Kings but unfortunately, that was the only win Hyderabad registered in the first leg of the tournament.

David Warner’s inconsistent performances with the bat were one of the major reasons behind their downfall. He scored 193 runs in 6 innings at a strike rate of 110.28. Jonny Bairstow gave them solid starts, but the middle order, too couldn’t capitalize on that. Bairstow is the only SRH batsman who features in the list of top ten leading run-scorers this year.

Sadly, he won’t be available for the second leg of the tournament. Kane Williamson took over the leadership duties from Warner midway during the tournament. He is likely to continue the captaincy duties in UAE.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Image Credit: Twitter)

As for the bowling department, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and T Natarajan’s return will be a big boost for them. Add Rashid Khan and M Nabi and it looks like a solid bowling unit. With 7 games left to be played, Sunrisers Hyderabad can’t afford to start on a losing note ahead of the match against DC on Wednesday.

Complete Squad:

Kane Williamson, David Warner, Abhishek Sharma, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Shreevats Goswami, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, T Natarajan, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Mitchell Marsh, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Jagadeesha Suchith, Sherfane Rutherford