IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians Rope In Rojith Ganesh From Kerala As A Reserve Player

IPL 2021: Mumbai Indians Rope In Rojith Ganesh From Kerala As A Reserve Player

Rojith Ganesh. (Credits: Web)

Mumbai Indians have signed up Kerala cricketer Rojith Ganesh to their list of reserve players ahead of IPL 2021. Mumbai Indians, who won their 5th title last year in the United Arab Emirates, have kickstarted their preparations for the marquee T20 league, beginning from the 9th of April. Mumbai Indians, who have secured Rojith Ganesh’s services, will open the tournament against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai.

Rojith Ganesh played a couple of matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this year; however, he could not do much. Simultaneously, one could argue that Ganesh could not get enough deliveries to bat and contributed ten runs. On the other hand, it’s leg-break bowling came to use for only a couple of overs in his debut match. Nevertheless, the all-rounder seemed to have impressed the defending champions in the KCA Presidents T20 Cup.

The 27-year old could not feature in all the matches, but he was part of KCA Royals, who stood triumphant in the competition. In one of the fixtures, he slammed an unbeaten 28 off 11 balls at an impressive strike rate of 250. Ganesh took to his official Instagram handle and confirmed the news by posting the caption “Happy to stand with champions side @mumbaiindians #ipl2021”.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Rojith K G (@rojithganesh)

Mumbai Indians aim to go where no team in IPL has been:

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians (Image Credit: Twitter)

Meanwhile, the upcoming edition will see Mumbai Indians see take the field as defending champions for the second time. The Rohit Sharma-led side lifted their 5th IPL trophy last year, seven years after winning their first. The franchise ran through all the sides in dominating fashion and beat Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final.

While Mumbai had all of their bases covered, they still bought seven players, including Piyush Chawla, Adam Milne, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Marco Jensen, Arjun Tendulkar, James Neesham, and Yudhvir Singh. They will hope to become the first side to win three IPL crowns on the bounce.

Also Read: Kuldeep Yadav Trying To Be Something He Is Not: Sanjay Manjrekar