Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL)

The Tata Indian Premier League 2023 ( Tata IPL 2023) was the sixteenth edition of the competition. Organised by the BCCI, the tournament was played from March 31 to May 29. IPL 2023 marked the return of the competition to its traditional home-and-away format after a period of four years.

Due to the pandemic, the previous three seasons were held at neutral venues. A total of ten teams participated in IPL 2023. Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Super Giants and Mumbai Indians qualified for the playoffs. Gujarat Titans finished at the top of the points table with 10 wins from 14 games, followed by Chennai Super Kings, Lucknow Super Giants and Mumbai Indians.

Captain and head coach of each franchise during 2023 Indian Premier League:

Franchise Head coach Captain
Chennai Super Kings Stephen Fleming MS Dhoni
Delhi Capitals Ricky Ponting David Warner
Gujarat Titans Ashish Nehra Hardik Pandya
Kolkata Knight Riders Chandrakant Pandit Shreyas Iyer
Lucknow Super Giants Andy Flower KL Rahul
Mumbai Indians Mark Boucher Rohit Sharma
Punjab Kings Trevor Bayliss Shikhar Dhawan
Rajasthan Royals Kumar Sangakkara Sanju Samson
Royal Challengers Bangalore Sanjay Bangar Faf du Plessis
Sunrisers Hyderabad Brian Lara Aiden Markram

In the first Qualifier, Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans to enter the final before the latter beat Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier to book a place in the title-decider. In the final, Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans by 5 wickets (DLS method) to clinch the title for the fifth time in a row.

Gujarat Titans' Shubman Gill finished the competition as the highest run-scorer. He had scored 890 runs in 17 games with the help of 3 centuries and 4 half-centuries. On the other hand, Mohammed Shami was the highest wicket-taker. Plying his trade for Gujarat Titans, the right-arm pacer claimed a total 28 wickets in 17 games.

Indian Premier League 2023: Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied NR Pts NRR
Gujarat Titans (Q) 14 10 4 0 0 20 0.809
Chennai Super Kings (Q) 14 8 5 0 1 17 0.652
Lucknow Super Giants (Q) 14 8 5 0 1 17 0.284
Mumbai Indians (Q) 14 8 6 0 0 16 -0.044
Rajasthan Royals (E) 14 7 7 0 0 14 0.148
Royal Challengers Bangalore (E) 14 7 7 0 0 14 0.135
Kolkata Knight Riders (E) 14 6 8 0 0 12 -0.239
Punjab Kings (E) 14 6 8 0 0 12 -0.304
Delhi Capitals (E) 14 5 9 0 0 10 -0.808
Sunrisers Hyderabad (E) 14 4 10 0 0 8 -0.59

Chennai Super Kings won the Tata IPL 2023.

Chennai Super Kings can be called the no.1 IPL team in 2023 since they won the tournament.

IPL 2023 started on March 31 with the match between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings.