Rishabh Pant David Warner
Rishabh Pant and David Warner. Image: BCCI/IPL

Indian wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant is expected to miss the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season as he will take at least 3–6 months to recover from a ligament injury. Senior Australian opener David Warner is likely to take over as captain of the Delhi Capitals (DC), and Sarfaraz Khan will probably keep stumps for the team.

Rishabh Pant was appointed as the captain for IPL 2021 and guided the team to finish as table-toppers in the league stage. However, they failed to reach the final, losing to the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Qualifier 2. The Delhi Capitals had an average campaign and failed to make the playoffs last season with seven wins in 14 matches, finishing fifth in the standings.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Rishabh Pant fo DC. Photo- IPL
Rishabh Pant for DC. Photo- IPL

According to recent reports by The Times of India, the DC team management is expected to approach David Warner for the captaincy role in the coming days. In Pant’s absence, Sarfaraz Khan may have to don the wicket-keeping gloves for the entire season.

DAvid Warner and Prithvi Shaw. Photo-IPL
David Warner and Prithvi Shaw. Photo-IPL

“Pant has been the mainstay of the middle-order. Warner has experience in leading IPL teams. The management will speak to him. The middle order needs an impactful India batting now. Sarfaraz will be asked to keep wickets if the combination asks for it. Meanwhile, the team will be looking for a domestic wicketkeeper or a strong batter,” a source explained to ToI on Wednesday.

David Warner was appointed captain of the SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2015 and guided the team to their first and only IPL title in 2016. Warner was unceremoniously sacked as the SRH captain midway through the IPL 2021, and the franchise decided not to retain him. The Delhi Capitals acquired him for Rs 6.25 crore in the IPL 2022 mega auction.

Also Read:AUS vs SA: Usman Khawaja Scores His Third Consecutive Century At The Sydney Cricket Ground, Becoming Only Fourth Player To Achieve This Feat

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah