After bowling fastest ball of IPL 2024, Mayank Yadav becomes first bowler in IPL history to...

Updated - 02 Apr 2024, 11:21 PM

Mayank Yadav
Mayank Yadav (Credits: X)

It has taken Mayank Yadav just two matches in the Indian Premier League to become the proud owner of an elite record in the tournament.

After warming the bench throughout the 2022 season and missing the 2023 season with injury, Mayan Yadav finally made his debut last week during the game between Lucknow Super Giants and Punjab Kings and did not take long to announce his arrival. The youngster stunned the cricketing world with his fiery spell against the Punjab-based outfit.

Chasing 200, Punjab Kings were well on top after Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow shared a century-plus stand. However, PBKS’ hopes were all done and dusted once Mayank Yadav completed his four overs. He picked up three crucial wickets and terrorized the Punjab batters by regularly clocking around 150 kph. One of his deliveries was recorded at 155.8kph as he bowled the fastest delivery of IPL 2024.

Mayank Yadav creates history:

Mayank Yadav bowled in the same manner against Royal Challengers Bengaluru on Tuesday (April 2). In his second over, he also broke his record for the fastest bowl of IPL 2024. After delivering the 155.8kph delivery on his debut, the Delhi pacer bowled one that was recorded at 156.7kph.

He touched the 155kph mark on two occasions against RCB and broke the record for bowling the most 155kph-plus deliveries in the IPL. Mayank Yadav has now bowled three deliveries over 155kph. The record was previously held jointly by Umran Malik and Anrich Nortje.

Talking about his performance against RCB, Mayank Yadav came up with yet another stunning display. He finished his four-over spell with impressive figures of 3 for 14. In his very first over, he dismissed Glenn Maxwell for a duck before castling Cameron Green with a beauty. Later, he dismissed a well-set Rajat Patidar as well to leave RCB reeling at 103 for 6 in the 15th over.

Earlier in the game, LSG scored 181/5 in the allotted 20 overs after being asked to bat first. Quinton de Kock led the charge with the bat for LSG, scoring 81 off 56 balls before Nicholas Pooran provided the finishing touches by smashing five sixes in the last two overs.


IPL IPL 2024 Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) Mayank Yadav Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)