Sunil Gavaskar reveals Cameron Green's batting position for RCB

Updated - 21 Feb 2024, 04:13 PM

Sunil Gavaskar Cameron Green
Sunil Gavaskar Cameron Green. Image Credits: Twitter

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has shared his views on Royal Challengers Bangalore’s batting lineup ahead of the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Bengaluru-based outfit secured the services of Green through a trade deal with Mumbai Indians. RCB signed him for a whopping amount of Rs 17.5 crores. The Australia allrounder made his debut in the IPL last year and enjoyed a fine first season. In 16 games, he scored 452 runs with the help of a century and two half-centuries. He also picked up six wickets with his medium pace.

Sunil Gavaskar on Cameron Green’s batting spot:

Green batted at no.3 in ten of the sixteen games he played for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023. In those 10 games, he scored 419 runs at an average of more than 50 and a strike-rate of over 160. However, he is unlikely to bat at that position in RCB, and Sunil Gavaskar explained the reason behind it.

Speaking on Star Sports, the legendary batsman stated that RCB have a fixed top three. He said that while Faf du Plessis and Virat Kohli will open the innings, Rajat Patidar will be batting at no. 3. Sunil Gavaskar further said that Green’s compatriot Glenn Maxwell is set to bat at number four and stated that the fast-bowling allrounder is likely to bat only after his Australia teammate.

“Rajat Patidar will bat at number three while Faf and Kohli will be playing at number one and two. At number four, Glenn Maxwell will be batting. He can do both – score runs while batting in the top order as well as play the role of the finisher. Cameron Green will perhaps get the chance to bat only after Maxwell,” said Sunil Gavaskar.

RCB have a formidable team for IPL 2024 and they will be desperate to go all the way this season to end their long wait for a maiden title. They failed to make it to the playoffs last year but have the required firepower to turn things around in IPL 2024.


Cameron Green IPL 2024 Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Sunil Gavaskar