Watch: CSK batters run 4 runs after Vijay Shankar and David Miller's fielding blunder

Published - 26 Mar 2024, 09:42 PM

Vijay Shankar, David Miller fielding goof-up vs CSK
Vijay Shankar, David Miller fielding goof-up [PC: X/Twitter]

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have made a strong start with the bat in the ongoing game against Gujarat Titans (GT) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

GT captain Shubman Gill won the toss and opted to bowl first. However, the GT bowlers could not justify their captain’s decision as they failed to get any early breakthroughs. Rachin Ravindra gave the home side a flying start and shared a 62-run stand with captain Ruturaj Gaikwad in just 30 balls before being dismissed by Rashid Khan.

The New Zealand opener smashed 46 runs off just 20 balls with the help of six fours and three sixes. After his departure, Ajinkya Rahane joined Gaikwad in the middle and both the batters were involved in a rare incident. They ran four runs after a mistake by GT fielders.

The incident took place in the 9th over bowled by Sai Kishore. On the second ball of the over, Rahane hit the spinner’s ball towards deep mid-wicket and ran for a single. David Miller and Vijay Shankar came charging in but none of them could go for the ball due to lack of communication. The ball passed through them and before Shankar could collect the ball and throw it, the batters had already run four.


CSK and GT start new journey:

Both teams have started the ongoing tournament with new captains. While Ruturaj Gaikwad is leading CSK, Shubman Gill is the captain of Gujarat Titans. Incidentally, both the batters are leading an IPL team for the first time in their careers.

Both the players have also made a promising start to their captaincy journey. While Gaikwad led CSK to a thumping six-wicket win over Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Shubman Gill-led GT registered a hard-fought six-run win over five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians.

Talking about the ongoing game, CSK were on 124 for 2 in the 12th over at the time of writing this report. Rahane departed for run-a-ball 12 before Shivam Dube joined Gaikwad in the middle.


Ajinkya Rahane Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Gujarat Titans (GT) IPL IPL 2024 Ruturaj Gaikwad