India vs South Africa 2nd ODI
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Last Update on: October 2nd, 2022 at 10:59 am

The current series is the fourth time India has hosted South Africa in a T20I match, yet not even once have the Men in Blue been able to defeat the Proteas at home in a bilateral T20I series.

With a victory today, Rohit Sharma and company will be able to win the series, thus the situation could alter this time.

Rohit Sharma. PC- Getty
Rohit Sharma. PC- Getty

In their previous three attempts, India has failed to defeat South Africa in a bilateral T20I series played at home, but this time, under the guidance of Rohit Sharma, they have a chance to break the record. On Sunday, October 2, at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati, India will finally defeat the Proteas team in a short-format series if they are successful in winning the second T20I.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Photo: BCCI)

At the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday (September 28), India defeated the opposition by an eight-wicket margin to take a 1-0 series lead. With one more victory, they will have an insurmountable lead.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma failed to score in the series opener:

In the first game of the series, Indian pacers Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, and Harshal Patel dominated, together dismissing seven South African hitters. Chahar and Arshdeep’s partnership held sway over the first 2.3 overs by forcing the South African team’s half back to the dugout for just nine runs.

But from that point on, Aiden Markram (25) and Wayne Parnell (24) began the recovery effort, which was later taken over by Keshav Maharaj, who finished with the game’s top score of 41 runs from 35 balls.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (PC- BCCI)

Virat Kohli (3) and Rohit Sharma, the Indian captain, were both dismissed early by the visitors with the ball in an attempt to mount a comeback, but they lacked any tools to stop Suryakumar Yadav, who hit back-to-back sixes against Anrich Nortje after joining the crease in the seventh over after Kohli left.

KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav. PC- BCCI
KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav. PC- BCCI

KL Rahul, who completed the game with a six and reached fifty as well, provided Surya, who is this year’s top scorer in T20Is, with similar support as he remained unbeaten on 50 from just 33 balls.
India now leads the three-match series 1-0, and Rohit Sharma and company are keen to seize this historic opportunity on Sunday in Guwahati.

Also Read: Wasn’t Really Surprised With Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup Triumph: Sanath Jayasuriya