Posted inIndian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Indian Premier League (IPL), IPL Auction, Latest Cricket News

“He is a genuine leader” – Ex-cricketers preview MS Dhoni’s comeback in IPL 2024

MS Dhoni will be making a comeback in IPL 2024 as he gears up to lead Chennai Super Kings. CSK are the defending champions having won the title in 2023. They have in fact won the title twice in the last four seasons in 2021 and 2023. Chennai Super Kings bought six players in the […]

Posted inLatest Cricket News, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Gujarat Titans (GT), Indian Premier League (IPL), Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), Mumbai Indians (MI), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

IPL 2024 Schedule, Date, First Match, Venue, Team List, Squad, Match List, Playing 11, Live Streaming In India, Live Telecast

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Cricket Team

Franchise Chennai Super Kings
Owner India Cements
Founded 2008
Nickname CSK
Home ground M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
No. of IPL titles 5
Most runs Suresh Raina
Most wickets Dwayne Bravo

Chennai Super Kings is an IPL cricket franchise based in Chennai. It is one of the eight teams that was founded in 2008, the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. Chennai Super Kings are owned by India Cements through its Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited holding company and play their home matches at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings jointly hold the record for most IPL titles. Along with Mumbai Indians, the Chennai-based outfit has won the IPL five times. They have also played in the final a record ten times while also qualifying for the playoff stages 12 times out of the 14 seasons they have played. In 2016 and 2017, Chennai Super Kings could not participate after being suspended due to the involvement of its owners in the 2013 IPL betting case.

Chennai Super Kings Jersey and logo:

Chennai Super Kings have been wearing the yellow jersey right from the first season of the IPL. While yellow has been the main colour, the jersey has also displayed blue and orange stripes on either sides. The jersey also sports the roaring lion logo in the center.

Chennai Super Kings’ journey in IPL so far:

Chennai Super Kings made it to the final in 2008 but lost the title-decider against Rajasthan Royals before making it to the playoffs in 2009. In 2010, they won their first IPL title by beating Mumbai Indians in the final before becoming the first team to defend their title in 2011.

From 2012 to 2015, they lost three finals before being suspended for the next two seasons. In their comeback season in 2018, the Chennai-based franchise won the title once again. In 2019, they made it to the final once again but lost the game by just 1 run against Mumbai Indians.

In 2020, they failed to make it to the playoffs for the first time in their history and finished at the seventh spot. However, they bounced back in style and won the title in 2021. In 2022, Chennai Super Kings had another disappointing season as they finished at the 9th spot but bounced back in 2023 by winning the title.

Year League standing Final standing
2008 3rd out of 8 Runners-up
2009 2nd out of 8 Semi-finalists
2010 3rd out of 8 Champions
2011 2nd out of 10 Champions
2012 4th out of 9 Runners-up
2013 1st out of 9 Runners-up
2014 3rd out of 8 Playoffs
2015 1st out of 8 Runners-up
2016 Suspended
2017 Suspended
2018 2nd out of 8 Champions
2019 2nd out of 8 Runners-up
2020 7th out of 8 League stage
2021 2nd out of 8 Champions
2022 9th out of 10 League stage
2023 2nd out of 10 Champions


How much was Dhoni sold for in the IPL 2024 auction?

MS Dhoni was retained by CSK so he did not participate in IPL 2024 auction. In fact, the former India skipper has gone under the hammer just once in 2008.

Who are in CSK Team 2024?

Here is the CSK team for IPL 2024:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (c), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Moeen Ali, Ajay Mandal, Nishant Sindhu, Mitchell Santner, Maheesh Theekshana, Prashant Solanki, Deepak Chahar, Matheesha Pathirana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Mukesh Choudhary, Tushar Deshpande, Simarjeet Singh, Shaik Rasheed, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Aravelly Avanish

What is the purse of CSK in IPL 2024?

CSK went to the auction with a purse of Rs 31.4 crores.

Who is the best batsman in Chennai Super Kings team?

In terms of runs, Suresh Raina is the best batsman of Chennai Super Kings as no other player has scored more than him for the franchise.