Mumbai Indians (MI)

Franchise Mumbai Indians
Owner India win Sports (Reliance Industries)
Founded 2008
Nickname MI
Home ground Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
No. of IPL titles 5
Most runs Rohit Sharma
Most wickets Lasith Malinga

Mumbai Indians is an IPL cricket franchise based in Mumbai. They were founded in 2008 and are owned by Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary Indiawin Sports. They play their home games at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Rohit Sharma is the highest run-scorer for the franchise while Lasith Malinga has picked up the most numbers of wickets.

Ahead of IPL 2024, they have named Hardik Pandya as their new captain. Pandya has replaced Rohit Sharma who led the team from 2013 to 2023. Under Rohit's captaincy, Mumbai Indians won a record five titles. Pandya was a part of the team during all the trophy-winning campaigns before being released ahead of the 2022 auction and was picked by Gujarat Titans. Pandya led the Titans to the title in 2022 and a runners-up finish in 2023 before sealing a trade deal to the Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians' Jersey and logo:

The primary color of the Mumbai Indians jersey is blue and golden stripes right from the first season. The team logo is the Sudarshan Chakra (or Razor) as initially the name of the team was supposed to be "Mumbai Razors" before the franchise decided to stay with Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians' journey in IPL so far:

Mumbai Indians failed to progress ahead of the league stage in the first two seasons of the IPL. In 2010, they finally advanced to the playoffs and made it to the final as well under the captaincy of Sachin Tendulkar. In the final, they suffered a loss against Chennai Super Kings.

In 2011 and 2012 too, they advanced to the playoffs but could not go all the way. In 2013, Mumbai Indians finally won their first title under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. The Mumbai-based outfit went on to win the title in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020 as well under Rohit's captaincy. They also became the first-ever team in the history of the league to win the title five times. In 2021 and 2022, they failed to advance to the playoffs before doing it in 2023.

Year League standing Final standing
2008 5th out of 8 League stage
2009 7th out of 8 League stage
2010 1st out of 8 Runners-up
2011 3rd out of 10 Playoffs
2012 3rd out of 9 Playoffs
2013 2nd out of 9 Champions
2014 4th out of 8 Playoffs
2015 2nd out of 8 Champions
2016 5th out of 8 League stage
2017 1st out of 8 Champions
2018 5th out of 8 League stage
2019 1st out of 8 Champions
2020 1st out of 8 Champions
2021 5th out of 8 League stage
2022 10th out of 10 League stage
2023 4th out of 10 Playoffs


In IPL 2023, Mumbai Indians struggled in the pace bowling department in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer ( injured halfway through the season). They conceded 200-plus totals against Gujarat and Punjab (twice each), Rajasthan and Hyderabad.

No player can be called the father of any team as it is inappropriate.

Mumbai Indians hold the record for the fastest chase in IPL. They chased down 68 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders in just 5.3 overs in IPL 2008.

Kieron Pollard holds the record for most catches in Mumbai Indians history. He took 113 catches for the Mumbai-based outfit.