England, Joe Root
Joe Root. Image Credits: Twitter
Prev1 of 5

The year 2021 saw the uprise of a lot of cricketers in the international circuit in the Test format. 2021 was a historic year for Test cricket as well because it produced the first-ever ICC World Test Champions, New Zealand. However, teams from across the globe fared well in Test cricket in 2021 and small test-playing nations like Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and West Indies too gave many players for the world to cherish.

While 2021 saw the arrival of some fresh cricketing talent on the centre stage, we also witnessed some legends of the game outperforming their young comrades and achieving unimaginable heights in Test cricket in 2021. On that note, let’s take a look at the 5 players who can win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

Indian Test team. Image-BCCI

5 Players Who Can Win ICC Test Cricketer Of The Year Award

5. Joe Root

Joe Root, ICC
Joe Root. (Photo: Twitter)

Joe Root had a phenomenal 2021 in Test cricket as he went on to assert himself as the best Test batsman in modern-day cricket in 2021. Root has scored a total of 1544 runs in Test cricket in 2021 so far at an average of 64.33. The English captain went on to score giant centuries in the subcontinent against Sri Lanka and India.

His captaincy has been under fire but Joe Root has been the lone warrior for England in 2021 in Tests as Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes have missed the majority of the year for England. Certainly, his name will be up for grabs when ICC decides to award the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

Prev1 of 5

Priyam Singh

I Wake Up Watching Cricket And Go To Bed Watching Football. Everything In Between Includes Lawn Tennis, Wrestling, Basketball, Formula 1, And Badminton. I Write To Make A Living And I Manage To Make My...