Asia Cup 2022: Ravindra Jadeja Becomes India's Most Successful Bowler In Tournament History

Updated - 01 Sep 2022, 03:14 PM

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja. Pic Credits: Twitter

Ravindra Jadeja became India’s all-time leading wicket-taker in the Asia Cup on Wednesday.

In the ongoing 2022 edition of the event, the all-rounder accomplished this achievement during his team’s Group A match against Hong Kong in Dubai.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja PC- Twitter

Team India was allowed to bat first against Hong Kong and finished with a score of 192/2 after 20 overs. A four and three enormous sixes were part of Virat Kohli’s 59* from 44 balls, which showed flashes of his previous form. Suryakumar Yadav then erupted in the final few overs, slamming a magnificent 68* off 26 balls with six fours and six sixes.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo: Twitter)

Ravindra Jadeja was a standout bowler during the game. Babar Hayat, who had the potential to be a deadly batter, was struck out by him and returned for 41 off 35 balls. His final statistics in his four overs were 1/15.

Ravindra Jadeja has surpassed former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan:

Currently, Ravindra Jadeja has 23 wickets from six Asia Cup competitions between 2010 and 2022. He already has more wickets in this competition than the former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan, who has 22.

In his inaugural Asia Cup in 2010, Jadeja claimed four wickets. He then claimed one in 2012 and seven in the 2014 competition. He then claimed three wickets in the 2016 edition of the competition before recording seven kills in the 2018 Asia Cup. He has one wicket so far in the ongoing Asia Cup.

Ravindra Jadeja PC
Photo Credit: (ANI)

In 2018, he had his most successful Asia Cup with the ball. He took seven scalps in four encounters at an average of 22.28 and an economy rate of 4.45.

In the event, his best bowling figures were 4/29. He was ranked fifth in the bowling rankings and India’s third-highest wicket-taker in the competition, after only Jasprit Bumrah (8) and Kuldeep Yadav (10).

Also Read: IND vs ZIM: Yuvraj Singh Told Me Not To Worry About Hundreds – Shubman Gill


India National Cricket Team Irfan Pathan Ravindra Jadeja Suryakumar Yadav