Afghanistan Announce 18-member Squad For ODI Series vs Sri Lanka, Gulbadin Naib, Noor Ahmad Included

Published - 19 Nov 2022, 07:42 PM

Image Credits: Twitter

On Saturday, November 19, the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) announced an 18-member squad of the Afghanistan National Cricket Team for the upcoming One Day International (ODI) series against the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team.

The ODI series between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka will consist of three matches. The series is scheduled to commence on November 25 and all the games will be held at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Notably, the three-match ODI series is also part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

Noor Ahmad
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Talking about the squad, senior all-rounder Gulbadin Naib and young left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad have been included in the 18-member team.

Other than that, the rest of the squad is the same as Afghanistan’s last ODI series against Zimbabwe, which was held in early June. Notably, the Afghans thrashed Zimbabwe in that series by 3-0.

Meanwhile, Hashmatullah Shahidi will be leading the team while star spinners Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman will be leading the bowling unit of the side in the ODI series.

The selectors have included some young faces for the series – Naseeb Khan

Afghanistan vs Australia | Photo Credit: AP
Afghanistan vs Australia | Photo Credit: AP

The CEO of the ACB, Naseeb Khan, stated that the selection committee picking some youngsters in the squad for the series against the Lankan Lions is a good sign.

“The selectors have included some young faces for the series which is a good sign for us leading into the ICC Cricket World Cup next year. The series is vital for us in terms of our qualification for the mega event next year and I am sure the squad carries enough strength to do well when they get to the field,” Naseeb Khan, the ACB CEO, was quoted via a press release.

Image Credits: Twitter

Afghanistan Squad For Sri Lanka ODIs:

Hashmatullah Shahidi (capt), Rahmat Shah (vice-capt), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Fareed Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhil (wk), Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Noor Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia-ur-Rehman

Complete Schedule:

Nov 25: 1st ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

Nov 27: 2nd ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

Nov 30: 3rd ODI, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium

Also Read: India tour of New Zealand 2022 Schedule, Squad, Live On Which Channel, ODI Squad, Score, Broadcast Channel, Time, Team List, Playing 11, Captain, Squad, And T20 Schedule


Gulbadin Naib Mujeeb Zadran Noor Ahmad Rashid Khan Sri Lanka national cricket team