Ruturaj Gaikwad, India
[PC: Sportsfile/Getty]

Last Update on: September 9th, 2023 at 10:09 pm

According to the latest reports in Cricbuzz, India’s Men’s and Women’s teams are all set to take part in training camps in Bengaluru ahead of the Asian Games 2023.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to send its Men’s and Women’s teams for the upcoming Asian Games. The Asian Games 2023 will take place in China from September 23 to October 8 and it will clash with the World Cup 2023.

The men’s cricket competition will take place from September 28 to October 8 and the women’s cricket matches will be played from September 19 to 28. The games are set to be played in the T20 format at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

India’s Men’s team will be led by Ruturaj Gaikwad and VVS Laxman will serve as the head coach of the side while the regular skipper Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the women’s team. Notably, a second-string team will be sent for the men’s competition because it will clash with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

Asian Games: India’s Training Camp To Begin On September 12

According to Cricbuzz, the Men’s team are set to undergo a nearly two-week camp in Bengaluru from September 12 to 24 and the Women’s team are set to undergo a 4-day camp from September 13 to 16.

“This camp will be valuable for many players who will be gaining experience in a multi-sport competition like the Asian Games,” said a source as quoted by Cricbuzz. 

Also, there is a high possibility of the extra members and the stand-by players not traveling to China for the Asian Games as there are strict restrictions on the number of athletes accommodated in the Games Village.

Read More  Yuvraj Singh Gives A Unique Advice To Team India For Dealing With Distractions During The ICC World Cup 2023

Team India (Senior Men) squad for the 19th Asian Games:

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Standby list of players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan

Support Staff: VVS Laxman (head coach), Sairaj Bahutule (bowling coach), Munish Bali (fielding coach), Thulasi Ram Yuvaraj (physio), AI Harrsha (S&C coach), Nandan Majhi (masseur), Maroof Fajandar (logistics manager) and Ashok Sadh (training assistant).

Team India (Senior Women) squad for the 19th Asian Games:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wk), Anusha Bareddy.

Standby list of players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, Pooja Vastrakar.

Support Staff: Hrishikesh Kanitkar (head coach), Rajib Dutta (bowling coach), Subhadeep Ghosh (fielding coach), Anand Date (S&C coach), Vikas Pandit (logistics manager), Kranthi Kumar Golla (training asst), Neha Karnik (physio) and Akanksha Satyavanshi (physio).

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.