Bangladesh Premier League 2022: Sri Lanka Cricket To Not Give NOC To 9 National Players, Franchises Look For Replacements

Published - 09 Jan 2022, 11:31 AM

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka (Image Credit: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket will not give a no-objection certificate to 9 national players for the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League 2022. Bangladesh Premier League 2022– the franchise T20 league of Bangladesh, is scheduled to commence on January 21. SLC said that they will not provide NOC to players as they have national commitments.

Franchises of BPL 2022 have picked 9 Sri Lanka players in their squads. Fortune Barisal franchise has picked Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshima Dickwella. Comilla Victorians have picked Kusal Mendis. Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Perera were captured by Sylhet Sunrisers. Thisara Perera, Bhanuka Rajapakse, and Seekkuge Prasanna have been drafted into the squad by Khulna Tigers. Isuru Udana is picked by Dhaka.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL  2022 Schedule | ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Sri Lanka Cricket
Sri Lanka Cricket Logo. Credits: SLC

SLC Will Not Release Players For Bangladesh Premier League 2022 Due to FTP Commitments: BCB Chief

Bangladesh Cricket Board’s chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury informed Cricbuzz that SLC will not release its players for BPL 2022 due to their FTP commitments.

“As contracted by SLC due to their FTP commitments, they will not release their cricketers during BPL,” BCB chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury said. 

Due to the unavailability of Sri Lankan players, the franchises have started looking for replacements. For instance, Fortune Barisal has roped in Dwayne Bravo as a replacement for Danushka Gunathilaka. Similarly, other franchises are also looking to replace their Sri Lankan players.

Dwayne Bravo
Dwayne Bravo (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: NZ vs BAN: Watch – Comedy Scenes From 2nd Test As Will Young Scores 7 Runs Off 1 Ball After Bangladesh’s Fielding Blunder

Bangladesh Premier League 2022 begins on January 21. Six teams part of the tournament are Barishal (Fortune Shoes Limited), Chattogram (Delta Sports Limited-Akhtar Group), Cumilla (Comilla Legends Limited), Dhaka (Rupa Fabrics Ltd & Marn Steel Ltd (Consortium), Khulna (Mind Tree Ltd), Sylhet (Pragoti Green Auto Rice Mills Ltd).

Bangladesh Premier League 2019, BPL 2019
Captains of teams in BPL 2019 (Image Credits: Getty)

Also Read: No NOC For South Africa’s Contracted Players To Play In Pakistan Super League: Graeme Smith

The tournament will witness 36 matches that will take place across three venues which are Dhaka, Chattogram, and Sylhet. The tournament will be played in a double round-robin format with each team facing the other twice during the league stage. It will be followed by three playoffs games and the final. The final of Bangladesh Premier League 2022 will take place on February 18.

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score


Kusal Mendis Sri Lanka national cricket team Thisara Perera