BCCI. Pic Credits: Twitter.

BCCI earlier sacked the entire Chetan Sharma-led selection panel following an exit from T20 WC. Under the tenure of Sourav Ganguly, the team became a force in bilateral series but failed to make an impact in the ICC tournaments. India hasn’t been able to win an ICC tournament since 2013.

The newly appointed BCCI President Roger Binny would be keen to end the drought of 9 years. The veteran was a part of a selection panel way back in 2012. The former all-rounder was also a part of the glorious ICC Cricket World Cup 1983 Triumph where India won against all odds.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Roger Binny
Roger Binny, Image Credits: Twitter

Cricket Advisory Committee Revealed

BCCI has named CAC which consists of Ashok Malhotra, Jatin Paranjape, and Sulakshana Naik. Ashok Malhotra has played 7 Tests and 20 ODIs and has also been the president of the ICA( Indian Cricketer’s Association).

Ashok Malhotra
Ashok Malhotra. Image Credits: Twitter

Paranjape played 4 ODIs for India and earlier was a part of the senior men’s selection committee. Sulakshana Naik, played two Tests, 46 ODIs, and 31 T20Is for India and continues to be a member of the CAC.

Steep Task for CAC

The CAC members will have to conduct interviews for the selector’s post. This time there are big names in the race as the likes of Nayan Mongia & Harvinder Singh have applied for the position. With a lot of ICC events scheduled in the next couple of years, the role of CAC becomes extremely vital as we all know the previous selection panel’s tenure, India had a lot of captains which somewhat changed the dynamics of the team.

Abey Kuruvilla, Harvinder Singh, Sunil Joshi, Debashish Mohanty and Chetan Sharma
Abey Kuruvilla, Harvinder Singh, Sunil Joshi, Debashish Mohanty and Chetan Sharma (Image Credits: Twitter)

According to some reports it is assumed that there might be a change in the coaching setup. CAC’s agenda would be electing selectors for the upcoming Sri Lanka Series and most importantly the iconic Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023. The Border-Gavaskar Trophy will most likely decide the finalists for World Test Championship (WTC 2021-23). It would be interesting to see how things unfold for the richest board as this time a billion people are eagerly waiting for silverware.

Also Read: IND vs BAN: “Playing KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant Difficult…”- Saba Karim