Chaminda Vaas Appointed Sri Lanka's Fast bowling Coach For West Indies Tour

Chaminda Vaas Appointed Sri Lanka’s Fast bowling Coach For West Indies Tour

Chaminda Vaas
Chaminda Vaas. (Photo: Getty Images)

On Friday (February 19), Sri Lanka Cricket announced former legendary pacer, Chaminda Vaas as the new fast bowling coach for the tour of West Indies.

Vaas will replace David Saker, who resigned from his post due to personal reasons. Saker was Sri Lanka’s fast bowling coach since December 2019.

Chaminda Vaas was working as the fast bowling coach at Sri Lanka’s High-Performance Center training the emerging players when the board called him to give his new position.

Sri Lanka’s tour of the West Indies comprises 3 T20Is, 3 ODIs, followed by a 2-match Test series. The T20I series will be played at the Coolidge Cricket Ground in Antigua from 3rd March while the ODI series and the Test series are slated to be played at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound in Antigua.

West Indies vs Sri Lanka
West Indies vs Sri Lanka (Twitter)

The tour will conclude by April 2nd; all games will be played behind closed doors and all the players and officials will be under the bio-bubble owing to the covid-19. After the West Indies tour, the Islanders will travel to England for a limited-overs matches tour.

Chaminda Vaas picked 761 international wickets for Sri Lanka

chaminda vaas
Chaminda Vaas. Image-AFP.

Chaminda Vaas retired in 2009 as a legend of Sri Lankan cricket having picked 761 international wickets for his country.

The left-hander snared 355 ODI scalps including 12 five-wicket hauls; he pocketed 400 Test wickets at an average of 27.54; in addition to 6 T20I wickets. Vaas’ record of 761 international scalps is third-highest for any Asian seamer after the revered Pakistani bowling pair of Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis.

He made significant contributions to the team which made through to the final of the 2007 50-over World Cup in the West Indies.

The 47–year-old bowler also played 13 IPL matches for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers from 2008 to 2010 and won the title under Adam Gilchrist in 2009.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Don’t Want Ben Stokes To Burn Out, Won’t Bowl Him Much: Rajasthan Royals’ Kumar Sangakkara