CPL 2024: Trinbago Knight Riders induct Tim David and Jason Roy

Updated - 11 Jun 2024, 05:15 PM

Jason Roy, Tim David, CPL 2024, Trinbago Knight Riders,
Jason Roy and Tim David (Credits: Twitter)

Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) have inducted two crucial new batters into their squad for the forthcoming Caribbean Premier League 2024 (CPL 2024). Trinbago Knight Riders have added hard-hitters Jason Roy and Tim David to their squad for the CPL 2024 season. 

Trinbago Knight Riders have also retained many of their players their core players like Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, and Dwayne Bravo in their squad for CPL 2024. The franchise showed wonderful form in the previous season. 

Trinbago Knight Riders finished in the 2nd spot in the points table last season out of six teams. The Kieron Pollard-led side reached the final by defeating Guyana Amazon Warriors in the Qualifier 1. However, they later lost the final to the same team by 9 wickets and ended as runners-up. 

Also Read: Watch - Jay Shah in a never-seen-before avatar as he stuns fans with his celebration after India's victory over Pakistan

Trinbago Knight Riders sign Tim David and Jason Roy for CPL 2024 

Ahead of CPL 2024, Trinbago Knight Riders have signed two new powerful batters in their squad in the form of Tim David and Jason Roy. Tim David is also part of Australia in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 and is a powerful lower-order batsman. 

Jason Roy is an England player who does not have a contract with the England Team currently. However, he is quite active in foreign franchise leagues all over the world. He is an explosive opening batsman. 

Knight Riders have already formed their 15-member squad by retaining most of the members from the last season. They will add two more emerging players during the players' draft in July next month. Below is the list of all the players retained by TKR for CPL 2024. 

TKR retained players for CPL 2024: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran,  Tim David, Jason Roy, Akeal Hosein, Dwayne Bravo,  Ali Khan, Mark Deyal, Keacy Carty, Waqar Salamkheil, Jayden Seales, Josh Little, Terrence Hinds. 

Also Read: Watch - Virat Kohli in utter disbelief as Arshdeep Singh leaves all stumps exposed while facing Mohammad Amir

CPL 2024 to commence on August 29 in the West Indies 

Meanwhile, the complete schedule for CPL 2024 has been already released by the West Indies Cricket Board. The league commences on August 29 with the opening game between Antigua and Barbuda Falcons vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. 

Trinbago Knight Riders will face St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in their first match on August 31. A total of six teams are part of CPL 2024 namely- Guyana Amazon Warriors, Trinbago Knight Riders, Barbados Royals, Barbados Royals, Saint Lucia Kings, Antigua and Barbuda Falcons, and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots. 

The CPL 2024 will conclude with the final on October 6 at Providence Stadium in Guyana. All the 6 teams will play a total of 34 games during the tournament. Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team with four CPL titles. However, they last won the trophy in the 2020 edition.