Rohit Sharma. India vs England
Image Source: Twitter

Last Update on: December 31st, 2021 at 02:25 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Cricket Australia have picked the customary XI of the Test format for the year 2021 after impressive performances from some of the in-form players throughout the year. Rohit Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin are among four Indians who have made the list.

Three players from Pakistan also feature in the list, while Marnus Labuschagne is the only Australian who makes the XI. Dimuth Karunaratne was picked as the skipper of the team.

Cricket Australia’s Test XI of 2021

Openers: Rohit Sharma and Dimuth Karunaratne

Rohit Sharma
Image Source: Twitter

Rohit Sharma has been simply sensational as a Test opener for India this year. He scored 906 runs this year with two hundreds and four half-centuries. Dimuth Karunaratne has been even better this year, having scored 902 runs at a staggering average of 69.38 with four hundreds and three fifties.

Middle Order: Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root and Fawad Alam

The No.1 ranked Test batsman Marnus Labuschagne has had a fabulous year with the bat having an average of 65.75 and having scored 526 runs. Joe Root has arguably been a no brainer when it comes to making it to this list having scored six centuries in 2021. Fawad Alam has shown great grit and determination to make a comeback and has been brilliant, scoring 571 runs and slamming three hundreds.

Read More  Moin Khan Picks His World Cup 2023 Semi-Finalists

Wicketkeeper: Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant, Gabba Test
Image Source: Twitter

Rishabh Pant has been a peculiar selection by Cricket Australia after his sensational knocks under pressure against Australia in Sydney (97) and then at the Gabba (89*). He also played some useful cameos at home.

Spinners: Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel

Ravichandran Ashwin had a fantastic year once again as he picked up 54 wickets in 9 Tests. Axar Patel had a dream debut series against England where he picked up 27 wickets in just three games.

Fast bowlers: Kyle Jamieson, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi

Kyle Jamieson was the Man of the Match in the World Test Championship final and picked up 27 wickets in five Tests. Hasan Ali and Shaheen Afridi have also been among the wickets, picking up 41 and 47 scalps respectively.

Cricket Australia Test XI of 2021: Rohit Sharma, Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Root, Fawad Alam, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Kyle Jamieson, Axar Patel, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Also Read: Ravi Shastri Recalls How He Planned Jasprit Bumrah’s Test Debut In South Africa