Cricket West Indies Announces Squad For White-Ball Series Against Ireland And England
West Indies team. Photo-Twitter

Cricket West Indies (CWI) interim selection panel has announced the squads for their upcoming limited-overs series against Ireland and England.

The 2016 T20 World Cup champions will host Ireland in a 3-match ODI series and a one-off T20I starting at the Sabina Park in Jamaica. The tour will go on from January 8-16 before England visit the Caribbean islands to play five T20Is from January 22 to 30.

We have tried to maintain the general make-up of the squads from the Pakistan Tour before Christmas, with the captain and some senior players coming back in. COVID-19 has also played a part in the final make-up of the squad.

Phil Simmons
Phil Simmons [Photo: Getty Images]

The challenges in the next couple of months are getting the young players in both squads to not only improve on their skills but maintain the attitude and desire we saw in Pakistan,” head coach Phil Simmons was quoted as saying in a CWI release.

West Indies’ recent tour of Pakistan was marred by quite a lot of positive cases in the camp. The 3-match ODI series was cancelled because of a lack of personnel but Simmons hopes the team can put it behind them and focus on the challenges ahead.

West Indies vs England, ICC T20 World Cup 2021
West Indies vs England (Image Credit: Twitter)

We do need to start the year on a high. And we know both Ireland and England have very good teams, so we expect a very strong challenge as we look to improve our chances of automatic qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2023 and building the T20 team for the ICC T20 World Cup in 2022,” Simmons added.

West Indies ODI Squad vs Ireland:

Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Nicholas Pooran, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas.

West Indies T20I Squad vs Ireland and England:

Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Fabian Allen and Darren Bravo (England T20Is only), Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Shai Hope, Akeal Hoesin, Jason Holder, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Also Read – Rohit Sharma Misses Out, KL Rahul Named Captain As BCCI Announces 18-Men Squad For South Africa ODIs