Danielle Wyatt
Danielle Wyatt. Image-AFP

Danielle Wyatt returns to the England ODI setup for the upcoming 5-ODI series against New Zealand, after being looked over earlier in the summer versus India in the ODIs. The last of Danielle  Wyatt’s 77 ODI appearances came in New Zealand in February.

She blasted 89 runs in the third T20I against India after being dropped from the ODI side, helping England win the T20I series.

Danielle  Wyatt continued on her good form in the T20I series versus New Zealand – she was the third-highest run-scorer in the three-match T20 series, which England won by 2-1, scoring 84 runs at 28 while striking at 140.00. She was amongst runs during The Hundred as well.

Danielle Wyatt
Danielle Wyatt (Image Credit: Twitter)
Kate Cross and Lauren Winfield-Hill also return to the national setup after missing out on the last two T20I series. Charlie Dean, the Southern Vipers off-spinner, is believed to be making her debut in the ODI series, which starts September 16 in Bristol.
She was part of the squad for the T20s series but did not play as she and Vipers team-mate Maia Bouchier were ruled out of the first T20I after they were deemed as possible Covid-19 contacts. Bouchier made an impressive debut in the second match but hasn’t been considered for the ODI series.
This is an opportunity for both teams to finalise their players for the Women’s ODI World Cup scheduled for early next year. Before that England will also play Australia in the women’s Ashes.
“We’re really looking forward to the Royal London Series,” Lisa Keightley, England’s head coach said.
“It’s a great test for us, and five more important ODIs ahead of the ICC Women’s World Cup next year.”
England Women's Cricket Team
England Women’s Cricket Team. Image Credits: AFP

England squad for ODI series vs New Zealand: 

Heather Knight (capt), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.
1st ODI, September 16, Bristol
2nd ODI, September 19, Worcester
3rd ODI, September 21, Leicester
4th ODI, September 23, Derby
5th ODI, September 26, Canterbury