Australian captain Tim Paine expressed his frustration at the contentious DRS call during the second innings of the Boxing Day Test, saying that the controversial call may have cost his side the Test match.
Paine was caught-behind for one off the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja after third umpire Paul Wilson adjudged him out on the basis of faint evidence provided by the ‘Real-Time Snicko’ technology.
Paine’s dismissal left Australia down in the dumps at 6/99 and although Cameron Green and Pat Cummins fought valiantly, it still left the home side with a poultry total of 69, one that was easily knocked off by the duo of Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane.
Alluding to the fact that India’s No.3 Cheteshwar Pujara got a reprieve upon review in virtually similar circumstances on day 02, Tim Paine called out what he thought was ‘double standards’
”I thought we had a pretty similar example in the first innings with Pujara on … day two which set some precedents. And then you could see the change,” Tim Paine told reporters, asserting that he did not hit the ball.
”Extremely frustrating, no doubt about that. Crucial part of the game. I felt like I’ve been playing pretty well the start of this series. And I thought if I could get in a partnership with (Cameron) Green (and) add another 50, 100, 120 runs together then the whole game changes. To have it finish like that was extremely disappointing.”
The Aussie skipper said that he had sought an explanation from the officials but had not been satisfied by the response.
I’ve spoken to them, it wasn’t very productive,” he said. My concern yesterday was not with the technology, it was with the precedents set with Pujara and the fact the (Paine) decision was made too quickly.
“He (Wilson) didn’t look at enough replays to see all evidence. There was probably a gap between bat and ball.It was just lots of things that didn’t marry up for me.”
Incidentally, Tim Paine survived a close run-out call in the first innings when one frame showed that he had grounded his bat on the right side of the popping crease, while the other frame showed that his bat was on the popping crease
The third umpire went with the former and ruled the Aussie skipper not-out. Paine, however, did not have any issue with the decision of the official.
Incidentally, Tim Paine survived a close run-out call in the first innings when one frame showed that he had grounded his bat on the right side of the popping crease, while the other one showed that his bat was on the line.
Paine, however, did not have any issue with that decision by the 3rd umpire.