Richa Ghosh
Richa Ghosh (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: October 1st, 2021 at 04:56 pm

India women’s wicketkeeper batter Richa Ghosh has been roped in by Hobart Hurricanes for the upcoming season of Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), the franchise announced on Friday.

Richa Ghosh has been signed as a replacement for South Africa’s Lizelle Lee, who had recently pulled out from the tournament, taking an indefinite break from cricket after having gone through multiple tournaments, bubbles, and quarantine requirements over the past months.

Richa Ghosh made her international debut last year in the Tri-National Women’s T20 series in the lead-up to the ICC T20 World Cup, before representing India in the tournament, where the team lost to Australia in the final.

Richa Ghosh
Richa Ghosh. Image-Twitter

The 18-year-old made her ODI debut recently versus Australia in Mackay. She impressed everyone with her attacking batting, scoring at little under run-a-ball in the ODI series.

“I’m very excited to be playing in the WBBL this year. I’m very thankful to the Hurricanes for this opportunity, and I’m looking forward to coming to Tasmania and meeting up with my new team-mates,” Richa Ghosh said in a statement posted on Hobart Hurricanes website.

Richa Ghosh joins South Africa’s Mignon du Preez and New Zealand’s Rachel Priest as Hurricanes’ three overseas players.

Other Indian women at the WBBL 2021/22

Prior to Richa Ghosh, several other Indian women cricketers have been signed up for stints in the WBBL this season.

Read More  India vs England Live Streaming Channel In India- When And Where To Watch ICC World Cup Warm Match Live? 2023

Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma (Sydney Thunder), Shafali Verma and Radha Yadav (Sydney Sixers) and Jemimah Rodrigues and Harmanpreet Kaur (Melbourne Renegades) are the other India players currently signed up.

Smriti Mandhana
Smriti Mandhana [Image-Twitter]
All these Indian players are already in Australia for their multi-format tour. It is believed that the Australian and Indian players currently taking part in the Test match in Queensland will be able to travel straight into Tasmania.

The WBBL will start on October 14 with the first 20 matches to be played entirely in Tasmania after border closures required the initial fixture list to be modified.

Also Read: IPL 2021: These Are Extremely, Extremely Harsh Words: Deep Dasgupta On Ravichandran Ashwin Being Called ‘Disgrace’