I Am Sure India Should Beat New Zealand - Yuvraj Singh Makes His WTC Final Prediction

I Am Sure India Should Beat New Zealand – Yuvraj Singh Makes His WTC Final Prediction

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj Singh. Image credits- AFP.

For Yuvraj Singh, the former India all-rounder, Virat Kohli’s side should be able to register a victory over New Zealand in the upcoming ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final, starting Friday in Southampton.

India and New Zealand finished first and second respectively in the WTC table. Both the teams lost only a single Test series during this two-year period – India lost away to New Zealand and the Kiwi lost away to Australia. Overall, Virat Kohli’s side won 12 of the 17 matches they participated in, and Kane Williamson’s team were victorious in 7 of their 11 games during this cycle.

Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

India has performed brilliantly on overseas tours: Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh underlines his prediction of India emerging triumphant in the WTC final based on the fact that the Asian giants won two out of their three away series – against West Indies and Australia. On the other hand, the Kiwis drew in Sri Lanka and lost 3-0 in Australia.

The 2011 World Cup winner reckons the two Test-series wins in Australia over the last couple of tours, have instilled an immense self-belief in the side, that they can win anywhere in the world, even outside Asia. Yuvraj Singh also appreciated the WTC cycle, which has added much-needed relevance to the bilateral Test series.

ICC World Test Championship final India's Predicted Playing XI
Team India (Photo by Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images)

“I think it’s a very good idea to take Test cricket to the next level, I feel India is very strong because India has performed brilliantly on overseas tours, won twice in Australia. I think India have the belief that they can win anywhere, but the conditions in England are different, I am sure India should beat New Zealand,” Yuvraj Singh told Aaj Tak on eSalaamCricket.

Meanwhile, India have announced their 15-member squad for the WTC final. Mayank Agarwal and Shardul Thakur are the notable absentees.

India’s 15-man squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav

Also Read: ICC WTC Final 2021: Aakash Chopra Picks His Team India Playing 11 For The Summit Clash